Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Don't get me wrong. I'm not sitting around worrying about swine flu.

Hello! Good morning!

I am running late, as usual. Only I suppose I am not late, as my boss has no issue with me coming in at 9:30 and staying late. He usually comes in at around 9:30 anyhow; our other senior economist (the one I like) comes in early and leaves early to be with family.

So! I am going to eat my breakfast in a leisurely fashion this morning.

In the shower, I was thinking, "I am resolutely opposed to working today." Lying in bed a few moments before, I had been staring out the window at green budded branches waving, bright sunshine, a feeling of ease and beauty. It helps that I can see that ease and beauty, since I cleaned up my bedroom a bit this weekend!

OH! Let me say that I am not suggesting worry about this swine flu thing. The problem with the media on this one is mostly that the media is everywhere, all the time. I think it's reasonable to report on this and I've heard some reasonable reporting. Many people are likely to misinterpret this reporting, though, because many of the "key words" suggest alarm, and also because the news is...everywhere, all the time. At this point, there is very little that can be done to contain this virus, and there is no point in worrying about it.

I will be quite happy - Queen me will be happy, that is - if some people simply adopt better hygiene practises from this. Far too people wash their hands properly and so many people just cough willy nilly. I'd also like sick people to stay home from work. They annoy me by coming by my office and standing around breathing on me. :)

That said, the swine flu is not currently a worry. What will be interesting is if it comes back in the fall flu season in a more virulent form. These things are moderately interesting.

Not something I worry about though, believe it or not.

I just worry about flying. :)

KIdding. Guess I should pour some cereal.

Have I mentioned that C. is finishing up his 2-year rotational program and now is thinking of taking a job at my dept.?? The job that he will be taking is likely going to place him one floor below me in my building! Kind of funny!

I thought I had something interesting to say but it appears not. Perhaps I should quit while I am ahead.

Oh! I was going to say that I had the flu once. I mean, the real flu. I had always thought that I had had the flu multiple times until I had the ACTUAL influenza. Actual influenza is absolutely horrible. I had it when I was 25. It knocked me out, energy-wise, for about a month. Normally, when I'm sick - I mean, with a typical gastro virus or a cold - I could, in theory, work. I feel shitty but I can keep going. When I had the flu, I had such a high fever that I honestly thought I was going to die. My boyfriend's mother came over to help me into the shower so that I could try to cool myself down (she was a nurse). She was rubbing alcohol all over me at other times. There was no way that I could go to work for at least a week. I remember how exhausting it was. So, I get the "flu fear."

Yeah, I'm babbling. I should eat and put on a shirt, some mascara. You know, stuff that gets one out the door. I have a lot of work to get done this week and I am procrastinating!

Have a good day!

|

8:50 a.m. - 2009-05-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08