Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Very pleased

A very nice day. Have been a busy beaver for five or more hours, essentially starting my spring cleaning. I had a very bad sore throat and congestion last night, but I took a decongestant and stayed in bed for a long time. That seems to have helped. It will pass, in any event.

Now, it's time to enjoy some lemon squares and a cup of tea.

Photobucket

It's been bothering me for quite some time that my place is not as organized as I would like it to be. The problem is that I have too much stuff. I've eliminated quite a bit but still it is difficult to put a whole life into an apartment. I suppose I should try harder!

Still, what a whiff of spring to open the windows and open a few boxes and crates and recycle the papers therein (am finally letting go of old job material and academic papers that I can always retrieve on the web, anyhow)! Each week I'm going to go through one or two boxes or drawers until things look fresh and reasonable, and then I'm going to start acquiring odd bits of furniture such as an additional bookcase, a proper wardrobe, and maybe even one day a sofa! You know, so I can have those pesky things called guests over from time to time..

One thing that cracked me up was the discovery - I hadn't noticed it before - that I have my glass trophy stating "female second place, Dallas Marathon" sitting on my night stand, behind a pile of books. Since NO ONE is ever in my bed whom I desire to impress (but don't feel sorry for me - there's no one I want at the moment and I like being alone :)), I really have no idea what the point was of that. Besides, that's more likely to deflate a guy, anyhow, non? ;-)

It doesn't really bother me that I have been living like a student. I'm not very fussy and clearly I prefer travel to stuff. One thing I've learned is absolutely true in life is that if you have the commitment and can start something, eventually it will get done. I'm rather pleased that at no stage in this today was I chastising myself for the fact that it all wasn't going to get done today, or that I've left it so long. I had fun with it - it was fun to chip away at the detritus one bit at a time! And there are always small, pleasing surprises, e.g., that I managed to rehabilite the stinkiest old shammy swimming towel by washing it today, and the discovery of a whole box of my old racing flats! Memory lane. :)

OK. Time for repose. :) Happy Sunday! Oh! I want to share with you an article that C. forwarded to me last year at about this time. I found it very useful in focusing myself at work. Perhaps you'll find it useful, too. article

|

3:51 p.m. - 2009-03-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08