Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tracking London.

Sorry for the third post, but in getting all excited about London, I found these two pictures that were both centred around the London Marathon.

This one was taken after I ran the marathon in 1998. I look so tired, non? And so bloody skinny! And notice that I was in a pub drinking GUINNESS. That was such a happy race. Katinka was there. Andrew and some other friends were there. My English relatives were there. Andrew, the English theatre actor, who was soooo wonderful and whom I wish I still knew took the picture. He was like Marco, part I. I think you understand.

Photobucket

This second one was taken in Belgium under very different circumstances, in 2000. My Olympic dreams were shattered. I HAD been supposed to run the London Marathon and in fact I started but dropped out after 10k. Because of injury and illness that year things had unraveled. Still, I look rather peaceful in this photo. I'm kind of amazed. I remember getting on the tube to get to the finish line and my stuff, after dropping out of the London race - I needed to cry, so didn't want to get stuck in an aid vehicle - wearing only my red Canadian uniform singlet and briefs. I'm trying to think how it is that I had money to get on the tube, but knowing me I had shoved some in my bra. (I always run with money and keys in my bra, if you can believe it.:)) A couple of older strangers stopped to hug me. Very depressing but also heartwarming. :(Photobucket

I want the feeling again of running down the Mall to the finish line of the London Marathon. That will be a beautiful day! That experience in 1998 remains one of the most wonderful ones of my life. I was running my best and I felt so proud. I started to choke up with tears in the last 100m.

|

4:32 p.m. - 2009-03-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08