Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Don't mind my sense of humour

Kind of antsy today. Sometimes I get a weird vibe from my boss, and even when I'm making good points he's constantly addressing the men on the team. It's quite disconcerting. Ah sigh...it's just work, non? I stayed late to get more done. I always respond by feeling that I need to work harder.

Not good.

Stop talking abut work!!

It did make me second guess my decision to cancel my Foreign Affairs interview, but I do believe that that would be a second - or third - best opportunity and I'm now in the mode again of reaching for what I truly want.

I actually did research the University of Suss3x for History today! It looks very promising for a number of reasons, but the financials would be one issue. The other issue would be me thinking about how to turn the thesis into something inclusive of British or European labour markets - not because I couldn't do something North America-oriented there, but because the archival research would be much more difficult if it meant returning to NA all the time. Would need to think more about this. Optimally, for what I've done to this point, being in Canada and taking trips to the U.S. - northeast, midwest and even California, believe it or not, would be optimal to flesh out the quantitative materials (which I would want to do because I'm a perfectionist and, well, insane!). Actually, I'm a recovering perfectionist, reaching for my slack-ass tendencies.

Some more thinking required and perhaps some additional reading. I have a couple of ideas for angles. I'm going to write up a few proposals and submit anyhow. They start accepting applications for 2010 October in November of this year. I'll be ready...

And the funding agencies...

Thinking!

What else?

Well, I decided today to do a belly dancing class. I was talking to a girl whom I like quite a bit (in C's rotational program). She takes quite a few dancing classes and, well, she mentioned working on isolating movements. I have always wanted to do 1) tango; 2) flamenco; and 3) belly dancing.

The belly dancing came after I saw the film Satin Rouge, a Tunisia-France coproduction that I highly recommend (low budget, but interesting glimpse of Tunisian culture and its western tinges - about a middle-aged widow finding her sensuality again through belly dancing). I liked it, anyhow.

I figure that I'm unlikely to break my other arm belly dancing, though I'm sufficiently uncoordinated that never say never. I'll be starting on either MOnday or Tuesday.

I really want to take tango, but that does require a partner. It's quite an intimate dance.

Sounds good, non? :)

I'm going to another concert this Friday, this time with a big group. I wish I could link you directly to songs on this woman's 2006 album. Her most famous song is Hard Line (song five, 2006 album). I also like the last song on that album (song 11). She's quite wonderful, if you want to check her out. (You need to click the arrows on the juke box to get to earlier albums. Her newest album is kind of retro and different.)

Jill Barber

OK, I should scoot, cougars.

Oh wait - that's me! Just checking to see if you were reading to the end. :)

|

7:33 p.m. - 2009-02-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08