Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

There are places I remember

Let me again apologize for my little rantola earlier. No offense intended to anyone, but I always go crazy when anyone has the impression that health care people here do things tantamount to malpractise, because of queueing.

Anyhow! All is GREAT!

I had a wonderful day. I was worried about the arm for about a moment when I encountered a rough triage nurse who chastised me for not coming to the hospital earlier.

But then I thought back to the fact that the swelling was going down, I could grip fully, etc. My doc told me over the phone that the break was undisplaced, so I figured that they wouldn't have to adjust the break. They didn't. The doc at the hospital did some tests and then plastered me up. It was quite funny because he asked me what I do at Line Dance and when I told him he started talking animatedly about SAS (statistical software), since he does research as well. Very interesting!

I also met some interesting people in the waiting room. I had a chat with a verterinarian from the Czech Republic. I also had a chat with an old gent whose wife had died of cancer in the same hospital and who had remarried and who was at the hospital with his new mother-in-law. We had a good chat and then a laugh. I really get along with old people.

And then the strangest thing happened: I was in the urgent care area waiting for my attending physician and I had a breakthrough related to work.

I later got back to work and suggested the idea to the second-in-command to my boss and he thinks it's a great idea. I think that this method could make a big difference. I'm quite excited to present it to my boss, since I know that the higher ups will be interested in what we can show with this.

I mean, who knew? The outcome of a broken arm...

So that's all good. And THEN I got to go to see the Trockaderos, a ballet troupe from Mont3 Carlo (New York). All of the roles are played by men. It was the FUNNIEST Swan Lake you could ever imagine. It was fantastic. The interesting thing is that it wasn't at all a mockery of traditional ballet. Rather, it was a DIVINE translation of the traditional roles into a sort of continuum of male energy. I found it quite touching in places actually.

Most of the time, however, it was HYSTERICAL. I mean, an ALPHA ballerina???

Woweee!

At the end they came back for an encore and did a raucous swing/jazz dance. It was outstanding. And I can't even begin to tell you about the dying swan...

Slap me if I ever again feel sorry for myself. What a life! I am SOOOOOO lucky.

When I was at the hospital I remembered how I broke my same arm when I was six. I took a TERRIBLE fall over the rail of a staircase. I had been goofing around. My parents rushed me to the hospital and the police interviewed them because I was so bruised up (first I broke the arm, and then I rolled backwards down an entire SECOND flight of stairs and scraped my back). I was a mess! My poor parents! Really! I was a pain!

So after they were interviewed I had to have my arm reset under full anaesthetic. Apparently, when the doctor put me under I threw up all over him (or maybe before, nt sure). He told my mom afterwards that he couldn't imagine that a little girl could eat so much (I've always been a BIIIIGGGGG eater). The doc was very funny. He put red food colouring in the plaster water and gave me a pink cast. Since it was Christmas he wrapped white around it to make it a candy cane. Nice, huh? I asked the doc for a pink one today but no go. :)

So that is it! Forgive me for ranting about health care. I just shake my head sometimes at how unbelievably lucky I am. When I think about all of the people in the world, like the World Vision girl who writes to me and wishes for ME that GOD will be with me and who thanks ME for thinking of her...I just cannot believe that I got to live in this life rather than another. Don't you just shake your head when you tink of people living in countries with life expectancies of 40????

I mean, my doc actually joked with me on the phone - he has a totally wry sense of humour (my god I would date the man if that were at all cool :)) - that if I were at the moment traveling in Lesotho or something the break was such that he would have told me to forget about it and it would heal. Ain't that the truth. I am so pampered and privileged, and hardly deserving. Or at least, no mre deserving than any other human being on earth. Gotta do something about that.

|

10:38 p.m. - 2009-02-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08