Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

brought to you from a big dork in a red dress

I'm back and I'm wielding a new weapon!! Let me now apologize for my rantola below. Nothing against anyone!!!
Photobucket


..

Me not getting my arm wrapped until today was TOTALLY my decision. I could have gone to the hospital on Sunday, but C. and I decided that it wasn't serious and so I didn't go.

When it bruised up yesterday I called my family doctor, who saw me right away. He sent me to an x-ray clinic on the next street and I had an x-ray within 45 minutes of leaving my office, at no charge to me of course - just one swipe of the magnetic strip of the same health care card that I have had since I was a little girl (that still has my mom's health number on it from when I was born). No paperwork. No fuss. No problem. Just hello and we'll be right with you!

It just happened that the doc at that clinic was sick yesterday but they asked me right away if I wanted to take my films back to my doc or to the hospital to be read immediately. I said that I could wait until this morning, since my doc had said that he thought it was a 1 in 20 chance that I had a break and he wasn't worried. I could grip fully and was not in any pain. So I made the choice to wait.

My doc called first thing this morning to tell me , "Guess what - remember that 1 in 20 chance?" GRIN!

So I went to the hospital today. All is well. The docs were great; I was back at work for the afternoon. I have a follow up with the orthopaedic guy this week.

I love our health care system. Whenever I have ever needed anything in my life, or my parents or any of my other family members have needed care, they have received excellent, prompt care. THat is not to say that there are never any problems in it anywhere. But there is no evidence that outcomes are worse here and in many cases they are better, plus there are ENORMOUS cost savings from having a single payer in the entire country. You have no idea. I know a great deal of the research evidence so if you have any questions feel free to ask. I often make the choice to wait on things, mostly because I know how urgent many care needs are and I don't want to take a place that could go to someone in more urgent need. In this case, I judged correctly, in that there was no urgent need. All is cool. Of course I'm an idiot, since I didn't konw that I had a broken arm! You'd think I would have intuited that.

I'm going to the ballet tonight. I couldn't wash my hair today, so please excuse the grody hair!

|

6:53 p.m. - 2009-02-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08