Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The ease of routine

Still very tired and a bit congested, but had a great day.

I got up at a reasonable hour, which always helps. Afterwards, I cleaned the kitchen - fridge, stove, countertop. I also organized and took out the recycling.

And then, in the early afternoon, C. and I went out for a nice run along the canal. It was not too far - only about 8 miles - and not too fast, but it was nice to be out in the sun and slip-sliding through the snow.

Afterwards I went to C's and we bummed around all afternoon eating some of the cheese that his aunties sent to him to congratulate him on his Ph.D. Oh! Did I mention that his defense went well on Monday and that he is done?? (I've been calling him Doctor Dude all week.)

In late afternoon I returned home knowing that I had an invitation to go back, since C. had intended to cook a chicken. So, this evening I had a nice, healthy meal of chicken, carrots, spinach, pasta and blueberries with yogurt. (All in German portions - amazing how much this little engine can eat.) Lovely. I'm now back home and ready for bed.

Sometimes the most banal and simple things are the most pleasurable. I feel happy to be home (I mean in Canada), and that surprises me. I'm sure my job will start to defeat me again soon, but at least in the last two days I felt that people were genuinely happy to see me. Funny.

K. and her husband come back tomorrow. I'm looking forward to doing some "girl" stuff now that I have a new, proper girl friend. Lucky me. I've been wanting to have a girl friend here for a while. I love Ava but she and I don't have much in common really. And the other girls I've met here I've liked but not felt a great kinship with. So there you go -slow but steady progress.

I'm going to start knitting my lilac toque. Coincidentally, before I left for Italy I bought a ball of lilac yarn. All I need now is a lilac purse and we'll be set. ;-)

|

10:40 p.m. - 2009-01-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08