Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sketchy update

Am having a great trip and yet with a bit of roughness has it evolved!

How's that for the Jane Aust3n sentences of which Fifi sometimes accuses me? :)

I can't write worth a damn, I realize.

So good stuff. I can't remember what I last wrote and in fact I'm very short on time and so I'll make this brief.

My friends arrived. They turned out to be much better travelers than ever I could have imagined - curious, open-minded, willing to speak the language, explorers, patient. I mean, I love the girl, K., at work, anyhow. We're birds of a feather - anxious, ill-suited to the work. But she does talk wAAAAY too much as a rule.

Could I have imagined that she would walk with me in the Uffizi yesterday for five hours, rapt??

It was wonderful. Her husband, too. Wonderful. We had the most terrific dinner two nights ago at the restaurant - by chance - to which M. had taken me on my last night here in September.

So how to sum up in two minutes? I had to switch hostels because of availability. New hostel beautiful and clean but room a mixed dorm with men who snore, no hot water this morning because I slept too late, etc. etc. I miss my old hostel. Tomorrow on to Venice on the train early in the morning though so all good.

I'm really so happy to be with my friends here. Having said that, since they are a couple and they are trying to work on their coupleness (her anxiety and health issues in the last year have taken a toll, especially on their physical intimacy), I have left them alone as much as possible. I think that she kind of likes to have me with them as a way of avoiding being alone with him. He likes me too, but I want to help.

But...I felt a wallop of sadness and loneliness wash over me yesterday when I left them after the Uffizi. I checked into my new hostel and wrote a quick - my first - note to M., who hasn't called or written to me since I've been in Italy. he never said he would and I don't know anything of his use of the Internet in Paris, but of course it hurts.

I took a long walk in the streets of the oltr'Arno last night and thought of M. and thought that maybe I came to Florence to say goodbye, to not keep my life on hold any longer. I will go back to Ottawa and date in the winter. Perhaps I will not come back here this spring. Maybe that's the way that things will go.

So...ought to run. I am going to the Accad3mia to see the David. have a booking at 1. Must off. Be well and lots of love. And most of all...buon anno. I will think of you as I watch the fireworks over the Arno tonight. Oh and I will do an extra long stare at David's buon form on your behalf. :)

Be well!!

|

12:17 p.m. - 2008-12-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08