Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bus driving bastards

I could be more charitable, I suppose, in keeping with the season.

I do not, in truth, feel very charitable.

We've had a transit strike going on here for several weeks. The bus union does not have legitimate grievances. As with almost all public sector employees in Ottawa, bus drivers are spoiled. :)

So I called the taxi companies to book a taxi to the airport for tomorrow morning for my relatively early flight. The taxi companies are not taking reservations on account of the bus strike. Soo..rather than possibly miss my flight, C. convinced me to reserve an airport limousine, which is going to cost me a fortune.

So, as for the bus drivers, did I manage to frustrate their knavish tricks? It would seem not. I've been screwed. I HATE throwing away unnecessary money when my EXTREMELY high tax dollars are ALREADY providing for the most highly paid BUS DRIVERS in the country.

Ah buggar. I'm sorry for my language but this seems a time to pull out my best memory of Australian lingo.

:)

Sigh. On that note, I should get back to packing. I am mostly packed, but I always go through this last-day process of pulling stuff out of my bag and putting it back in, hoping that at some point I'll be able to convince myself to remove some stuff and take less. For example, do I really need to take TWO black skirts and a dress? I think not. Do I really need THREE pairs of pants or could I get by with two? Do I need to take fourteen pairs of underwear and four button-down shirts AND four sweaters?

I suppose I could think of the limousine thing as the money that I DIDN'T spend on taxis on my prior trips. I always take public transportation, even in strange cities. It's a matter of principle. I wish I knew someone who could drive me to the airport, but unfortunately everyone I know and could trust to pick me up on time and who has a car...is away for the holidays. Oh or dead. Oops. C. had to convince me to book the limo else he felt I wouldn't sleep tonight. Smart C.

Hmm... I think I'm going to treat myself to some boxing day cookies. Must start baking...

|

12:02 p.m. - 2008-12-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08