Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Men are weird. Not a very intelligent title, but it's all I can think of at the moment.

What an odd morning.

Got an email that I couldn't quite identify, but opened it anyhow. Discovered that it was from ANOTHER guy whom I met on a dating site more than a year ago.

I remember this guy, because he was an older guy and an IronM@n triathlete. He sounded nice but I don't want to be around someone who is obsessed with his training - been there, done that and want to do other things in life at this stage...

But anyhow. He had told me at the time that he had had a much younger girlfriend but that they had broken up.

So the guy, get this, emails me to wish me a happy holiday, and to tell me that he's back with the same girlfriend and is taking her to his sister's for the holidays!

Honestly, I hardly even remembered who this guy was, and he was emailing me to boast about his girlfriend (and, in theory, to wish me a happy holiday).

Let me ask you: What is wrong with people???

Soo....I got an email from Marco yesterday. It was semi-satisfying on one level, but not at all satisfying on other levels. Same old, same old. He told me how much he loves Venice and hopes I will go there. He's proud that I love his gift and put it on my desk. He wishes he could be with me.

Sigh.

Whatever.

But his comments about Venice - he said it's the "perfect place for an artist at Christmas," not that I'm an artist, but you know what I mean - encouraged me to commit to going.

So here's the plan: I'm going to be in Florence from December 28 early morning to January 1. I'll be in Venice from January 1 (it's a three-hour train ride) through the 4th. On the early morning of the 4th I think I might fly to Rome with my friends. They found Ry@nAir flights for 10 Euro so I might just do that, have the whole day in Rome, and then take the train back to Florence on the morning of the 5th. I'd have the whole day in Florence and then I fly out of Florence at about 2 p.m. on the 6th. I've thought about calling United to change my flight to one from Rome, but I don't want to overcomplicate things. The train to Florence from Rome is a Eurostar regular one that only takes 90 minutes. So no problem.

Soo...At least the trip is getting organized, if a little bit crazy. It's not my usual style of trip, but I figure that that is good: I'll be eager to go back to Florence for my course in April. It is REALLY going to encourage me to pack lightly.

This reminds me...I need to send off an email to Annamaria about what she recommends for a coat. It is so tough for me to know what to bring. It will be up to 13 degrees C during the day there, but since it will rain and will be much cooler at night I know that I'll get cold. Even in September when I was going to the opera and had a dress and tights on and only had a shorter raincoat, I was cold at night. You get cold when you're walking or standing around.

The problem is that I only have a wool winter trench that goes below my knees. I don't want to be completely laden and silly with such a coat in Florence. I'm totally stuck. What a silly problem. I suppose I could take a very lightweight down one that I have that also goes below my knees. I'd look a bit silly but it's easy to carry around and I'd never get cold. :) Any advice for Europe would be welcome here.

Well, enough dilly dallying. I should get to work. :( CRY! (To steal a BoXxism.)

Only two days remaining...

|

9:00 a.m. - 2008-12-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08