Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I can't believe I'm THINKING THIS

OK. I'm a complete nutter.

If I go to Italy for Christmas it will be MAD.

But really, when I sat down and thought about it, I realized that I'd be stupid NOT to go.

The flights are CHEAPER by 600 than they were in September. They are bargain basement right now.

I get a free week of holidays off work, meaning that have from the 24th of December to the 4th of January completely off work. I could take an extra five days off work and be in Italy from December 25 through January 11 (boss permitting, of course). Can you believe that?

My friends would be there. They are a couple, so I wouldn't spend the whole time with them, but we could meet up. It could be so much fun.

I haven't emailed Marco yet. I wrote him a note and then I didn't send it. I don't know why. For some reason, even though he declares all the time that he wishes that I were there, I feel like a parasite or something to show up in his town during the holiday period.

The thing is that I know that what he means by "I wish you were here" is that he wishes that I lived there so that we could develop a normal sort of a "relationship."

Whatever that is.

I can't explain it but I feel 100% sure today that I should go to Italy, even if I don't see him. It's completely NUTS, isn't it?

What I have in mind is hopping on the plane on the 24th and landing in Florence on the 25th with only a small backpack - jeans, a dress, boots, a few sweaters, a couple of novels and a sketchpad and pencils. I'd be free to move around and take the train to Rome, Venice, Assisi, maybe even to the south if my friends wanted to go there. I mean, how much fun would that be? Being Canadian - and I know this is funny and odd - Italy seems so tiny and manageable to me. It's like a dollhouse country.

I don't say that with condescension. For some reason, I just feel like I can handle Italy. I guess because it's familiar. And what better way to practise what I've recently studied?

Ha ha! Really, this is getting crazy. I looked at the hostel online just a while ago too and a bed for 13 nights would be about $400. I could find similar accomodation around Italy, and splurge on a hotel for a few nights. I mean, for less than a single pay cheque I could enjoy an entire vacation in Italy!

I know. I'm not very practical. I've never been practical. It's like I was born with "born free" DNA.

I suppose that I can rationalize this by reminding myself that I don't own a car and I walk everywhere. Of course, I'll have to buy carbon offsets if I do another trans-Atlantic journey.

Lordy, I'm a nutter.

Stay tuned. I'm sure I'll change my mind by tomorrow. Tonight, however, it seems real. Perhaps I should drum up the courage to email Marco.

Oh the food and the wine...Mmmmm

No, no, I can't do this. I should talk to C. first. I'm already having cold feet. It just seems so...NUTS.

|

9:47 p.m. - 2008-12-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08