Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

EXKS OH!

I just got in from a run, and after reading Fifi's post from tonight I realized that I should say something: I am not putting down America for not being interested in our crappy politics up here. I must admit that I am often way too flippant for my own good. I wish you could hear my silly voice and see my goofy facial expresions as I go on these rants. These facial expressions (eyebrow lifts, eye widening) occur even when the rants are in my head.

I just went for a run. I really am a Golden Retriever in disguise. Whenever there is snow I can't help but go off the path and prance through the snow, even when it's all crusty on top and my feet get stuck. I love it.

Oh and it's a good heart workout, too!

I just love to run.

But not too much.

Oh! And I was also joking about Quebec belonging on another planet. But really, it is sort of true. Quebec in this last election was all up in arms because the federal government was cutting funding for the arts. But Quebeckers whenever they are pissed off at the Liberals vote for the Bloc en masse, which is, as I stated before, a Quebec-only party in favour of Quebec separation from the rest of Canada and that never does anything in the interest of Canada as a whole. They basically waste a whole bunch of seats in Parliament because they can't get their selfish heads out of their arses.

It's like my good friend A. He works for the federal government as a diplomat. And yet he is a separatist. He has the most ridiculous, most inconsistent position on the matter ever. He is paid by the feds, by CANADA, and yet he says that in his mind he represents Quebec. So I ask him if when he is representing Canada he does things that are only in the interest of Quebec. Of course the answer is no. He'd be a lousy diplomat and would have his ass fired in an instant were that the case.

But when I ask him what he would do if Quebec were to separate, he says that he would go to work for Quebec, "his nation."

So then I ask him why he would only work for Quebec if Quebec were to separate. He has no good answer for this. He doesn't even LIVE in Quebec when he is in Canada. He moved across the Ontario border because our taxes are much lower. Quebec has the richest social programs and the worst provincial government (the most inefficient government and the WORST health care system in Canada), and coincidentally the highest taxes of any jurisdiction in North America.

So, you know...I fully admit that French Canadians are sexier and have more fun and are more adventurous culturally, but politically they make absolutely no sense and I thank goodness every day that I don't have to live or work within their political system. Honestly, it's a disaster. I'm sort of a Quebec-admirer, but only ever again at a distance.

But no matter. We all belong on different planets. I don't know how this rag tag country actually holds together. Me, I want to live on Marco Polo's planet. I'm going to go to sleep tonight dreaming of riding my bicycle to China from Italy, and camping out under the stars with a bottle of wine and my own Marco Polo friend.

Oh! I started the purple hat. It's going to be cute. I might even be brave enough to stick the pompom on this time. CUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUTE!

OK. That's all of me for tonight. I'm sorry that there have been no pictures lately. About all I could take a picture of is my tired face and the MOUNTAIN of papers on my desk. You just wouldn't believe.

|

10:40 p.m. - 2008-12-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08