Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Crazy little village

I have a really slow Internet connection. This is happening quite frequently lately, for the first time since I've had high speed from this provider. Hmm...

So you have no idea how crazy things are here right now. Our government might fall to a coalition of two parties plus one in the House (the Liberals, the lefty New Democrats with the support on motions of the Quebec separatist Bloc (don't even ask...)) on Monday, which is a really serious thing. I just checked the NYT, and the whole story is buried on about page 20, or three layers down on the Internet site - and the details in the articles that I read totally miss the spirit of the thing - but it's quite an important thing for us, and also a very interesting situation.

Right now, the Liberal party, the NDP party and the Bloc (party from Quebec) have signed a pact to bring down the government over their economic statement of last week. (Note that we had an election only six weeks ago, in which this government was returned in another minority.)

The economic statement last week contained some pretty ideologically-driven things. It was a huge, political mistake.

But we're in a very interesting position here at the moment. We MIGHT have a vote in Parliament to declare the Parliament's lack of confidence in the current government, over the economic statement, which would bring the government down on Monday.

But what might also happen is that the current Prime Minist3r will ask the Governor General - our true head of state - to prorogue Parliament before his government can be voted down.

My understanding is that the PM doesn't really have a good case for prorogation constitutionally, but you just never know.

If the government isn't permitted a prorogation, then the coalition government that will govern will comprise a Liberal PM who doesn't have the confidence of his party and who will be replaced at a convention in May, a rag tag group of real lefties representing the New Democratic Party, and the separatist Bloc, who hold a fair number of seats but are basically a good example of how Quebec really belongs not only in another country but on another planet. The Bloc can never be a national party since they only run in Quebec, and the Bloc is a separatist party.

So it's all pretty funny. I mean, quite funny. The even funnier bit is that if this coalition turfs this government, the Western separatist movement of all of those rednecks in Alberta will start to pick up steam.

You gotta love Parliamentary democracy. Provided that your country doesn't fall apart. :) Either way, a great many people in Ottawa would like to know exactly for whom they're working, since briefing on policies of at least three parties becomes, well...baffling.

Just a guess, of course. :)

So, about me. Nothing interesting happened today, except that I left work at 5. What a random thing for me to do. I just left. And I bought a ball of purple yarn to make a hat. I don't know why. I just wanted a purple hat. My white one is difficult to keep clean.

I think I will sit in my chair and knit said hat.

Oh! M. didn't reply to my long response to his email last night. He almost never replies in the first day, since I think it takes him a while to compose responses. I'm sort of interested though to hear what his bicycling heart has further to say about cycling the light fantastic around the Cape and on the route of Marco Polo. I signed off EB Polo, because really, if I had my druthers, you know darn well that I'd be cycling my way from Italy to China, with a long stopover on the beaches in Slovenia.

Incidentally, Slovenia's beaches made it to the front page of the New York Times's website today. I can understand why this is so and Canada was buried in the "Americas" section of the "World" section. It makes sense. It's not like we're the biggest trading partner of the U.S. and its biggest supplier of oil. Oh yeah...

I'm sure that the next time a rogue polar bear crosses over from Manitoba into the Dakotas and mauls someone it will be well covered.

:) Incidentally, someone said the funniest thing to me the other day. It was a secretary, whom I always run into in the washroom. She said that I reminded her of "that girl from Sex and the C!ty - Sarah J. Park3r." I was a little bit shocked. And then she said, "Not her face, but the way that you are, the way that you walk. You always seem sort of swingy and happy." It's really amazing what other people see, isn't it? Totally not what I thought I was projecting.

|

6:13 p.m. - 2008-12-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08