Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hope your days were as pleasant!

Bastards!

You don't need to know to whom I'm referring. But trust me...bastards.

Wonderful, perfect day.

Nothing very exciting happened, but I was home from the office. Finally I smartened up and took my "personal" leave day. Excellent! A step forward for me.

What I did:

1a) Slept in. Woke up and flipped on the radio and then rolled over as soon as I realized that I did not need to be a functioning citizen today. Perfect.
1b) Slept again until C. barged in to lend me some CDs. Always weird to hear someone unlocking your front door when you're half asleep.
2) I got up and enjoyed coffee in the bright morning light (it's not snowing today, so the grey had lifted) and enjoyed some relatively decent radio programs.
3) Whilst knocking over my CD collection realized that at some point I had purchased a cheesy Andr3a Boc3lli CD that had never been cracked open. Proceeded to sing to cheesy Italian "Romanza" pop songs at the top of my lungs in my bad Italian, and then did it all all over again once I realized that the lyrics were written out in the inside flap in BOTH Italian and English.
4) Had a moment of gratitude for being a shamelessly cheesy person.
5) Looked around and realized that my apartment is spotlessly clean after last weekend's efforts and so I could enjoy it sans effort today.
6) Then I think I cooked. I'm trying to remember. Oh yeah. I was searching for recipes in the "healthy eating" section of the NYTimes when an email from M. came in. Replied. Smiled.
7) Made black bean tacos. Not something I make often, but they were incredibly delicious.
8) Went for an hour-long run in the snow along the canal, reveling in the fact that it was MINE, ALL MINE.
9)Stopped and turned my face up to catch snowflakes on my tongue, rather like a Golden Retriever.
10) Paused for a moment to again be glad that everyone else in the world seemed to be at work.
11) Stopped to chat to my landlord to tell him that I WILL accompany him to see Louis Lort!3 play Chopin on the piano on December 11 or 12. Honestly, there are few discomforts I wouldn't endure to hear Chopin piano music played by a talented pianist, even an old man with a distinctive smell and a particularly French hauteur putting his arm around me to indicate to others that I'm his "date."
12) Thought seriously about at least buying myself a keyboard, I mean, tomorrow, since I can't have either of my two pianos in this apartment, even if my mother would give me one of them back in teh first place.
13) Lounged in my chair.
14) Listened to the national economic statement.
15) Not permitted to discuss further, obviously. Sinister mentioned how important it is to set an example of restraint in government by fixing the growth of public servant salaries to a rate below the rate of inflation. Yeah.
16) But that's not why I mentioned the word "bastard" above, or anything. :)
17) Um. What next? Oh! I started to watch a very charming French Canadian movie lent to me by one of my colleagues. It's almost over, and yet I think I'm unlikely to pop over to the film fest.
18) Thought to myself: WHAT A GREAT DAY. Really it was. If I can take a few more of these over the next months I think I will be well able to get some perspective and figure out to what I'll move on.
19)Just decided to crack open "Emma," pour a glass of good red wine, and curl up like a slob in my chair until I need to drag myself to bed.

|

7:44 p.m. - 2008-11-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08