Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pure joy and gratitude

Photobucket

Photobucket

It was snowing in front of my house earlier this evening. Can you tell? Unfortunately the air temperature is also mild, which implies that everything is melting. Never a good thing. My supposedly impervious Montreal-tough, Canadian-made boots leaked on the way home from the ballet. That's what you get for believing that such a thing as an attractive yet waterproof and warm boot is possible.

And yet, I am not disheartened.

Today was a wonderful day. I mean, work, schmerk.

The ballet this evening, however, was divine. It was pared down, modern, elegant, humorous, delicate, charming. It struck me as the dance version of that wonderful scene of Anthony M!nghella's in The English Pati3nt, in which Kip swings Hana up on ropes by torch to see the frescos in the church in war-ravaged Italy. Do you know that one? It is probably my favourite movie scene ever. So beautiful.

There was even an amazing segment in the ballet with two older dancers in a battle of the sexes. This was preceded by the choreographer describing the formation of a company of four that he had undertaken to continue to use the richly developed skills of older dancers no longer able to work within a more agressive, athletic repertoire. (The total ballet comprised a set of film and voice clips interspersed with the dance segments.)

The final dance was done underneath rows of elevated, lit candles; a dance sequence in the middle saw four young dancers dancing in silence and then suddenly under a waterfall of flour (appeared as sand on stage) to the first movement of Beethoven's fifth!!! It was hilarious and utterly gorgeous. The whole thing had a definite flavour of Pina Bausch, but with more intentional reverence for the classics.

Wow. I'm still flabbergasted.

I also received a completely out-of-the-blue email from M. asking if he could send me a small Christmas present. I think it's going to be a piece of his art, which naturally makes me so happy. I would love it to be a mosaic or a picture of his mosaic of the boat crossing the Arn0.

Life is beautiful. All I could think as the curtains were closing tonight is how lucky I am to be able to have the resources to enjoy so many cultural opportunities.

|

10:24 p.m. - 2008-11-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08