Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ze plot thickens

So today was a great day!

I am feeling much better, although not terrific.

Fifi's mention of shoes means that I depleted my resources yet further by buying the most beautiful, buttery, soft, sexy black boots. Honestly, if shoes weren't so relatively cheap in Italy I wouldn't have considered it, but what the hell. I could NOT get these at home. And of course I get the VAT back when I leave the country. I realized that that makes my skirt a lot cheaper too, which is funny. So I will probably go and get the dress. :)

Soo.....here's the thing. A couple of interesting things happened today. I'm flying out of here on the Monday the 29th, but it occurred to me that that is stupid. I could email my boss and see if I can get the remaining 4 days of that week off, and then take the remaining week of the course. I probably won't do it, but it is an interesting thought, non?

The other interesting thing that happened today is that I got an email from M. this morning saying would I hurry up and get my phone and text him so that he can call me. And otherwise he hopes I am feeling better and do I need anything and he will be here at 4 tomorrow. So that is nice. Nicer. I feel like he actually IS looking forward to seeing me.

I won't wear the boots tomorrow.

I'll keep it very casual.

Let's just play everything by ear, shall we?

I wish I had the energy to tell you about my walk, but I'll tell you at least that I always see such beautiful and funny things when I walk. These Italians. They are beautiful, really. Some of the women dress like prostitutes, but those are my hyper-conservative anglo eyes speaking. It actually makes perfect sense - they're so openly sensual here that none of it seems sexual in the way that it would if you saw a woman wearing the same thing on the street in Canada. But here you get the sense that sex is everywhere, so the desire is completely moderated.

I just love these Italians.

Once I get used to the people walking in front of me and so on in shops. They just do it. They seem rude and surly, these women, but mostly they are probably not.

One funny thing that I saw this evening was a bunch of women in a shop, admiring a little girl who was strutting around in a white patent trench coat and scarf that she was obviously trying on. It was so hilarious. They train them young. The girl was no more than four, I would say.

:)

Bella! Bella!

Tomorrow the lovely Australian lady and I are going to the phone shop and then to see Fra' Angelico frescos at San Marco. Not the era we are studying but I want to see them. That visit should also take the edge off before I see M. I feel quite embarrassed, actually. I don't really have any clean and nice but not overdone clothes to wear when I see him. I'm going to have to wash something or air something out and/or buy some perfume. I am so un-Italian, you know. I don't even wear perfume. In the Canadian government there are signs everywhere about people with scent allergies. It's considered disrespectful to wear strong scents. Could you imagine someone posting such a sign in Italia?


Uh yeah. No. I've never smelled so much perfume in my life. And I love it. Especially on the dudes. Really, the dudes are marvelous here. I look at them and marvel. So many are mini-Davids. But clothed. :)

OK. Gotta run and grab some dinner before the kitchen closed. I had lunch at a little trattoria before class today so I am staying cheap and at the hostel tonight. Tomorrow we will likely be eating a big meal. :)

Oh! The funniest or at least most peculiar thing. Anna will be able to comment. In my class there are some older British people who are people I thought previously to only exist in skits and movies and so on. They are so crusty! They have no sense of humour. We had a history lecture by this HILARIOUS Italian who was cracking me up throughout the class. He was clever in English, too, and he knew his Petrarch and Bocaccio and Dante. I mean, how can you not be bawdy and funny when talking about medeival and renaissance Florence!???!??!?! I mean, Cosimo di M3dici and randy monk sex??

These British people were actually tut-tutting and looking SOOOOOO displeased. I was secretly pleased, myself, since they were rude to Joan. One of them actually said to her the other day, "Ohwwww....You don't speak Austrahlian..."

OK. Better run or I'll miss my shot at dinner. :)

|

8:04 p.m. - 2008-09-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08