Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No crema solare required this time. :)

So I wrote a deep entry, and then I realized that I should write a "fun" entry. I think you guys realize that I often just spread my thoughts out in order to work out exactly what they are.

I'm still sick. It's mostly congestion but I have to say that I'm terrifically pleased with how I slept last night. I thought I would have trouble - the kind of trouble one has when one is thick in the head and can't breathe, and so on.

But no. I slept well and the absolutely horrible sore throat that I had late last night (I was worried that I was getting strep or something) is fortunately gone. I can deal with a runny nose, but a sore throat really gets me down. I just hate it. Scratchy is fine.

The only worry is that this will go into my chest. I do have my asthma inhaler here, but it's not comfortable. I'll hope for the best though. Today I will think positively and get some zinc.

So I really can't rave enough about the opera last night. The people in the audience were another story though. Oh my goodness am I ever tired of people who have to be critical of everything, and vocally, too, so that they diminish the enjoyment of others.

Fortunately I was sitting beside a couple of Italians, who were clearly enjoying the opera. They were yelling "bravo" and "brava" and "bravi." It was terrific and inspiring. A lot of the people in the audience were tourists, however, who had clearly found out about the gig via the same website I had, or who had heard about it from their hotel people. Some of these people were clearly just there because they felt they should be experiencing culture. They looked bored. One dude even fell asleep. And half of these people turned up in running shoes and jeans and sweat tops. I mean, I don't expect Prada, but could you at least try a LITTLE?

The people behind me were complaining non-stop because as people were being seated it took a few extra minutes and the performance started 10 minutes late. And then after the second act there was an intermission, and they complained that they hadn't been told that there would be an intermission. Honestly, I wanted to turn around and tell them to go back to Canada or America or wherever they had come from. Why bother going to something if you're going to spoil the atmosphere? I really dislike that breed of tourist. The whole thing was over and done with in two hours, including wonderful performances and an intermission in which they offered us each a glass of wine by candlelight. It was lovely. Really lovely. I want to book in to see Rigoletto.

The other nice thing that I had forgotten from the website is that the company raises funds for an orphanage in India. The cost of the tickets is very reasonable, so they take up a small collection - box in the corner, no obligation - and 100% of the money is sent to India. Last year they sent 10,000 Euro to southern India. I liked this. It made the performance real. Here I am in Italy listening to beautiful, emotional music, wearing my red cocktail dress (yes! I really looked odd amongst the people in sneakers, but who cares (the Italians were dressed up :))). I was listening by candlelight and feeling so thankful for the life that I have been given. I am in Italy, in an old Anglican church (one of the oddest looking ones I've ever been in, I must say - pink and full of gilded things EEK!, but still). OH it was magical. I wish that my grandmother had been alive to sit there with me. She would have loved it. She would have cried.

OH well. C'est tout. I should figure out what I'm going to do today. I think that first I am going to buy a phone, and then probably I'll go and buy the dress pants I saw yesterday. Rather than buy jeans I think I'll buy a pair of trousers that I can wear to work as well. I tried on a nice grey, wool pair yesterday. I'm really adventurous, aren't I? Italy and grey wool. Well at least I've clearly started to just be my practical old self again.

That said, I'm wearing my daffodil dress today even though it's cold. I'll have to pile a sweater and jacket on top. :)

Hope you are well. I'm going to go to the Institute to start uploading photos. I promise that the entries from here on out will be more fun and lively. I think I always have a wee meltdown when I first come to italy, because I feel acutely the loneliness and fatigue that my life back home seems to generate for me. I wish that I'd been born different, or differently, or knew how to escape the life I've manufactured for myself. In time I will know. :)

Take care!

|

9:31 a.m. - 2008-09-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08