Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sort of crazy, running-off-at-the-mouth notes! I'm still sleepy!

Hi friends!!

Hope you are all well!

I had a 17 hour journey overnight including stop overs and so I'm tired! I walked around until I could check into my hostel and then took a long nap! I feel a bit better now.

The journey was otherwise uneventful though (I mean, aside from the lack of sleep, which is not unusual for me on a plane).

So the one glitch here at my hostel is that they don't allow appliances to be used on their computers. So if I want to upload my photos I'll have to find an Internet cafe. I'll perhaps do that tomorrow or whenever. So the pics will be a bit more intermittent - sorry, BoXx!

In better news, I took some HYSTERICALLY funny photos today. Or at least the backstories were funny.

I'm sorry to have to take a swipe at French people, but sure enough at the Montreal airport (French people are the same everywhere, on average), there were not only the usual suspects of pushy women but also something unusual. I saw a girl walking through my lounge, with her little DOG, and her dog stopped and PEED on the floor...and she did not stop to wipe it up.

She just haughtily marched away.

Honestly, when I lived in Montreal, as much as I loved the finer cultural aspects of French Canadians, I wanted to get into fights so often with people who were downright obnoxious in public spaces. If I hadn't been so incredulous - given that a bunch of people WATCHED the dog do this - I would have chased after her. Oh and she was also talking on her cell phone at the same time.

So I hope you'll excuse me for swiping at the French. I couldn't help myself. Their public manners can be POOR. :)

SO otherwise my journey has been fabulous. I sat by a lovely, lovely Swiss man on the plane. He owns a summer home in Canada and I could tell that he really wanted to ask for my number, but again I'm ROTTEN at that flirting thing. Oh well, practise! Perhaps I'll see him again.

Swiss Air was great. The planes were a little bit shabby but the service was excellent. And I've never been on flights - except to and in Japan - that were so perfectly ON TIME. Fabulous!

I have to say, and I know that it's a stereotype, but instead of the indifference bordering on rudeness that I received at Charles de G@aule in making my tight connection, the Swiss airport people were fantastic. NOT a problem. Train there. Directions with a smile. Free chocolate. Me likey.

Oh and then I sat next to the most hilarious Australian couple on the plane to Florence from Zurich. One thing I do like about the Australians is that as a generality - I'm all about the stereotypes today! - they say what they think. They had me nearly peeing my pants laughing. The flight attendant was wheeling a service cart up and down that was squeaking REALLY loudly. So the Australian husband - a big, blustery red-faced sort of a man piped up, "CRIKEY, dear. You'd think -that a little bit of grease wouldn't add TOO much to your fuel bill!"

He was just adorable, as was his wife PAM. That's such an Australian name, by the way. Cute couple.

They're in Tuscany for a wedding and then off to barge around in France (literally), about which the woman said, "We'd better have fun - we're paying enough for it, mate!"

What else?

Well everything went very smoothly here and so on. I feel as though I'm at home.

I also just checked my email now and M had sent me a bon voyage note yesterday. That comforts me a little - he's away on tour and it is nice that he thought of me. So all good.

I found the school today. So cute. I took a pic. And then I walked up to my FAVOURITE church and sat in it listening to ORGAN MUSIC. YES! Booming organ music. It was WONDERFUL. Just imagine a giant, dim old Roman church (well, a church on teh site of an early Roman church, anyhow). FANTASTIC. It was heaven.

Unfortunately though one bad thing has occurred: Being the DUMB and optimistic Canadian that I am, I did not expect that I would feel cold here at sub-20 degrees and with rain. But indeed I do feel cold. I did not bring any PANTS with me, you'll recall. So tomorrow I will have to go to Z@ra or something and buy some pants and a sweater. Oops. Not that I'm going to cry over shopping in Italy. Boo hoo me! :) But still...

AH LALALALALLLA. I had so many good thoughts today. Perhaps it coincided with the wine on the plane but I thougth concretely that I am going to - somehow, some way - get out of my job and the false life that I'm living. It's not me.

Oh and I bought the P0wer of Now at the airport. I have hsi more recent book but not that one. I'm going to centre myself and take every experience as part of the path of stepping stones to get to wherever I decide I want to go.

So that was long.

Oh! I did something funny in Zurich. There was THE hottest man coming to Florence. I mean, ITALIAN melt-in-your- mouth milk chocolate manness. I think he is an artist, too. Oh lalalalalala. Really, mmmm...So I was trying to casually take pictures of the airport and the shuttle, hoping to get him in one (without alerting and angering his wife EEK!). I sort of managed, although his head is cut off. Who needs a head on a man, anyhow? :) I felt like that girl from the "cute boys make me nervous" website.

Just joking.

I'm silly. Obviously. So here I am. I should probably go out and eat something. First I think I will walk to a square to which I have never walked before.

Hope you are all fantastic! Wish you were here! I mean that! I'd love to have a drink with you in a piazza!

One of the things I realized again today is how much I yearn for like-minded company. There are so few people around to whom I can truly relate. And on a more personal note - not meaning to be sad - I really had to stop myself not feeling sad when I saw all of the cute couples (tourists and locals alike) canoodling around town. It's a town for that. Hell, Italy is a country for that. Why doesn't someone want to be with me?

Well, there's no answer to that. Not a good one, anyhow. Except in part that I need to change my beliefs. Underneath it all I know that I still don't fully believe that things will work out for me. Gotta work out on that. Oh and I hope you'll excuse the weak editing and grammar when I am here. I'm never very careful but here I'm going to be drunk half the time and Italian keyboards slightly befuddle me. :)

|

5:03 p.m. - 2008-09-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08