Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Conflicted and otherwise relatively useless today. As usual!

Oh I am ill! I had a very unproductive, fuzzy day at work.

It's OK though - I'd rather hit the skids whilst still here than when getting on the plane. I have a strong body and although I might not be 100% on Saturday I'll likely be fairly well as long as I rest. So no pity for me!

I do hate the transition of seasons. We have such abrupt ones here. I went from sweating my arse off sitting in my sauna of an apartment last week, to wearing a coat and scarf to work today (over wool pants, a blouse AND a sweater).

I just feel crappy. Don't you just love that feeling? I really just spun my wheels all day, like pushing food around a plate.

Oh well!

When I got home I opened up a report card on my World V!sion child. I always feel so ambivalent when I get these. I feel so guilty. Why do I have so much while she has so little? It hurts. I feel sort of ashamed to write to her, particularly as I am about to jet my rich arse off to Italia and pollute the planet yet more. I sat down and wrote a letter just now, however, because she wrote that her favourite colour is yellow! I told her about daffodil sweaters. I'm sure that she won't understand, but I hope that she finds it funny that I like yellow, too. In fact, I'm wearing my daffodil sweater RIGHT now.

Her dream is to be a doctor when she grows up. I hope she makes it. She loves jumping and dancing and her favourite class is in the local language. That all sounds great to me.

In news pertaining to my own very tortuous education, I received a note from the lady at the Br!tish Inst!tute in Florence today. I really can't wait to meet this lady, as she's been utterly delightful in correspondence. She wrote to me today that I was not to worry - she's met all of my classmates and they are all lovely and friendly. (They started this week, unlike me. :( Boo hoo work!) They are going for an aperitivo on Friday night but she is going to try to schedule something similar for when I am there, so that I can participate!

OK. So that was really nice. At any rate, I didn't want to be rude and ask the age distribution of my class, but I'm hoping that there will be people close to my age and older. It would be great to meet nice people when I'm there. Perhaps I can invite one of them to the opera.

It seems that I might just end up being WAY overbooked whilst there. In a way, I'd love to know what are the specifics that M. has in mind for my visit as well. Surprises are good, however, I find. I find it's a letdown if I've anticipated something for a long time.

But what to wear! What to wear! Red dress one night for sure. Yes. Yes, indeed.

Well, the long suffering C. has kindly invited me over to eat more of his wonderful chicken soup. I must admit that it is the only thing that I feel like eating tonight.

OK. Cheerio! Hope you are all wonderful and bright and shiny and daffodil pleased today!

Actually, speaking of which, the sweet Bulgarian girl in the cafeteria with whom I always chat told me that I look very "shiny" today. I asked her how on earth that is possible (huge, huge dark bags are encircling my eyes today) and she said that it's the yellow!

Daffodil oh daffodil. Spray a little bit of sunshine on me.

|

6:49 p.m. - 2008-09-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08