Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chianti, here I come!

OMG I just love my new time clock so much that I want to write something NEW under it!?

Honestly, I just love knowing how late it is in Italy. :) How odd is that? Vicarious night owling?

He he he he he he.


I got on my bike for a little while and pedaled hard. It seems to have SLIGHTLY loosened up the lump of peanut butter lurching through my body.

I've just poured a tiny juice glass full of wine. I'm going to sip it slowly. I'll be in the moment. I'll be like the girl in the ad from the 70s for Pi@t D'Or, "Smooth, without ze edge!"

In my earlier, deleted entry, I mentioned that at the assembly today we had a speaker from H@rvard. A psychologist. He was quite interesting.

The talk was basically about how introverts and extroverts clash in the workplace. He took the extreme cases, obviously, and then talked about those in the middle.

I loved the talk in part because the guy was very animated and funny, and told a bunch of funny stories related to the fact that he himself is an introvert.

I mean, it's hardly surprising that a professor would be an introvert. But the thing is that he talked at length about how introverts have to be on show all the time at work, but at their peril. In other words, watch out for burnout, if you're constantly acting in that third self who is not the real you. AMEN. It's why I need so much time alone in my apartment.

He told a hilarious story about efforts he made in trying to avoid an audience members at a talk. He was on a break and needed a walk to do the introvert recharge thing. He mentioned going to the bathroom with his feet up on the stall door so that he wouldn't be detected. Apparently the habit stuck.

Now THAT's avoidance. I LIKE it! :)

The really funny bit though was the bit in which he talked about the extrovert coming into the office in the morning and all of the introverts cringing. It's exactly what I do as the senior economist walks in, or walks by my office. I'm always thinking: "PLEASE CAN HE JUST PASS ME BY THIS TIME??? PLEASE???"

The speaker basically pinned the two of us to the wall. Me: A perfectionist who does things correctly but often too slowly as I can't stand not getting things *right.* Him: (And I quote) Does things quickly. Often is wrong. Has a better short-term memory (introverts apparently are better at long-term, which I can believe) and so is able to give an impression of knowing/doing more than he does/has.

AMEN.

That's like the exact battle of personalities between the two of us.

So that was interesting.

The other interesting thing that this guy said and that I think is worth considering further, is that introverts are usually overstimulated by their environment. This overstimulation is not optimal for them for work performance. (Hence the need to shut my door, which I pointed out to the senior economist on the break.) Extroverts, on the other hand, need to CREATE more stimulation for themselves. Uh huh.

So what the guy said further is that coffee is bad for introverts (even as little as 2.5 cups), for a serious introvert will be lifted above the optimal level of stimulation.

For introverts, alcohol is best!


Woo hoo!

I mean, I don't think he meant TOOO much alcohol. ;) But alcohol brings introverts down to a level of stimulation - or at least THROUGH a level of stimulation - that is optimal for the introvert for concentration, etc.

It makes so much sense.

Anyhow. I think that I should maybe start to cut out coffee. I only drink one large cup in the morning and none later on in the day, but I rarely feel productive in the mornings. In the afternoons, on the other hand, particularly LATE in the afternoon, I am on fire.

So it's interesting. It's interesting to think about different personality types.

Interestingly (not an overused word in my vocab AT ALL, INTERESTINGLY :)), the guy said that there is a study that has shown that introverted males report having sex about 3.0 times per month. Introverted females report having sex about 3.1 times per month. Extroverted males, on the other hand, have sex 5.2 times per month. Extraverted females, however, and the good doctor labeled them HEROIC, have sex 7.2 times per month. I'd love to know more about that sample.

:)

All silliness.

Anyhow. I wish I had some pics to share to make this more interesting. Here's an old one. This was at NY with L@rry. Can you believe what a sad, miserable goth girl I am here? My old friend C. is next to me. It's a terrible picture of her and of her friends. Photobucket

Kind of scary. Unfortunately I'm still a bit sad. I need to work harder on this. Oh well. Rome wasn't built in a day!

You know, I am SO hot at the moment that I am using this image for visualization purposes. These are my feet standing in front of my front porch.

Photobucket.

Dream well!

Photobucket

I think I should stare at my posters more often. They really cheer me up. :)

Photobucket

|

10:26 p.m. - 2008-09-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08