Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Smile if you're extroverted.

Oh PS I should add an addendum about introverts vs. extroverts.

The good doctor was not suggesting that one type is better or worse than the other. Extroverts are more willing to put things out there, so even though they make more mistakes in their work, they actually get things done. And, too, since they have better short-term memories they can often be better in meetings and on the spot and so on. Without the introverts though, a Line Dance department wouldn't function, simply because ya can't come back each year saying, "Well, we were only off by 2.5 billion! Close enough!"

Extroverts also obviously have the advantage in social situations. They are also in the majority, so there's strength in numbers. Extroverts apparently are less pain-sensitive, as I noted before! When I was a kid I always wished that I didn't feel the need to run away from other kids. I couldn't stand being on the playground for long though, or being in gym class with people bumping and pushing me. It was like torture. Now I understand why. You're apparently not supposed to run away and sit in the woods on the side of the schoolyard though. :) I actually think that the whole introvert extrovert thing can be very useful if parents and teachers think about it when dealing with kids. My mother is a bona fide extrovert. I mean, this is half of the problem. She used to think that I should just LOVE playing the piano and being a cocktail waitress at her parties. (Honestly, if I ever wanted to crawl under my bed and NEVER come out, those were the times.) Oh, and I understand now why I actually thought of throwing myself off the pier that year that my mother announced at a family gathering that I'd started to menstruate. (Seriously, the more I write about this, the more I think that the senior economist and my mother are behaviourally analogous.)

Oh and the speaker also said that although introverts in general do better in school, because the environment is better suited to them (sitting still, etc.), there's no proven difference in intelligence between the two.

Although of course we're not talking about the specific examples of me and the senior arsehole!

Hehehehehe

So I'm being silly. But I just wanted to say that, as I certainly wouldn't want to hurt anyone's feelings.

OK. Back to my corn chips. Unfortunately no guac.

I might post some pics from my walk to work today. I looked like a right wanker walking along with my camera around my neck, taking pics with one hand and eating my breakfast with the other. (I was running late, on account of my banking panic.)

I just got a note from C. that he was going to "meet some guys for a round of poker." If you knew C. at all, you'd know why I find this completely hilarious! This is a guy who will soon have a Ph.D. in economics, who yet miscalculates things like how many hours until the end of the work day. GOd I hope he didn't take his wallet.

Here are some pics from my walk to work through downtown. Rather underwhelming, I know. :)

|

7:28 p.m. - 2008-09-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08