Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The long and the short end of the stick.

Ah life is funny.

Some guy on the dating site who emailed me today actually sounds interesting - age appropriate, economist, also an endurance athlete (cyclist), loves to do photography in his spare time. The catch is that he's a kiwi over here on a 12-month contract.

Well, whatever. I don't have to marry any of these dudes. I don't have to marry any dude, actually.

C. came over to bring me some blueberries and to do a sort of exchange, and I went out with him to buy my cornbread ingredients. Unfortunately, the local store did not have cornmeal!? and so I came home empty-handed. Well, I had eggs.

But something interesting happened on my way home. That guy, perhaps you'll remember him - P. - with the great calves, who was in my cycling class this past winter, called out to me.

I liked the guy but thought that he was a bit dorky. He had also started flirting with that new girl in class as soon she arrived.

Anyhow. So I'd seen him around at a distance this summer and we'd waved to each other, but there he was standing right in front of me. I was friendly and stopped to chat, and we actually had a nice chat. I don't think that he's really the kind of guy whom I could date for a long time - WAAAYY too anally retentive (I know - I'm one to talk) - but he did start telling me in a shockingly animated way about an interest in history that he has recently developed. Well good for him. He suggested that if I'm not busy sometime we should get together to chat.

Well why not? He is very cute. He's an engineer, so that's a big strike against him. (I'm sorry to any engineers out there, but my experience with them hasn't been great.)

All of my long-term boyfriends have been engineers (well except for S., who had a law degree, an MBA and a PhD in narcissism hehehehehe :)).

No, no more engineers.

This is the thing about what I wrote yesterday. I really do wonder what the hell happens with me and guys. I mean, I don't know how I got to be an economist. Obviously I like it on some level, too. But what I really love is art. I feel as though I should be with an artist, but it seems so unlikely. The guys who like me are always economists and engineers. It's axiomatic or something. Oh, and there was that microbiologist thrown in there.

Well, I really don't hang around with very many artists. Maybe that's the problem. :)

Yeah, that's the problem.

The two men I've liked best in life were artistic travelers. So I think that that's what that entry was about last night: those two stood out and as it turns out those two were the only ones who were non-analytical types.

Yes!

So here's the question: Should one be with one similar to oneself, or should one be with someone different and thereby complementary? The age old question.

Not sure.

In more endless, pointless babbling about my dating life, I must tell you that today, whilst cleaning, I found these silk pyjamas given to me by my university boyfriend.

I always thought it was so funny that a 23 year-old guy gave his girlfriend these beautiful, dark paisley, silk, full-body-coverage silk pyjamas.

Um...does this mean that you don't WANT to see me naked?

Yeah. Well, whatever. I can't believe that I still have them. It doesn't seem right to give them away though. Maybe one day I'll be bedridden and will want to look elegant. Otherwise, I never wear pyjamas because I can't stand being hot when I sleep. Shorts will do. :)

I'm so silly.

Do you know what else I did today? C. wanted to stroll through the bookstore after the market today, so I was looking at travel books and I bought the silliest thing.

It's a little tiny accordian thing called "Luxe Flor3nce." I laughed initially because the most expensive this and that are not usually my thing. But as I started browsing through it I thought it might be fun to go to the places with the best cake, the best ice cream, the best handmade shoes, blah blah. I'll explore the fancy pants stuff in Florence and I'll give you reports. :) It seemed as though it might be fun, for example, to try out some swanky wine bars.

In its defense, the book also lists "casual" family-run restaurants that are considered institutions/wonderful eateries. So I'll have balance in my regime of indulgence.

To be honest, I've been thinking of not reserving the room at the fancy hotel. Even two nights there will equal my hostel accomodation for the entire time in Florence, and it strikes me again that I can spend the money on other things. If I'm really tired when there though I can book something in a pinch. There are plenty of hotels.

Watch me change my mind by tomorrow though. :)

It's just difficult for me to waste money. Honestly, when I went through my clothes today my heart sank to think of all of the money that I've wasted on clothes over the years. It made me sad.

OK. On that note, the final load of laundry is coming out and I was thinking that I might go for a very short run along the canal, just to ease the tension a bit. A new guy is starting in my unit tomorrow - so now it will be FIVE guys and little me in the analytical unit, oh joy - and it's getting me a little bit anxious. I shouldn't worry, really, but of course one always has a little niggle of "will he undermine me in some way?"

|

9:40 p.m. - 2008-09-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08