Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sticky, stickies, free.

I had a truly, outstandingly, terrifically productive weekend!

If only it could be longer!

Today, C. and I walked to the farmer's market to get veggies and fruit. I'm set up for the week. And then, upon my return home, I tackled my bedroom. There is still a heap of stuff of which to dispose, but I made enormous progress. I went through basically all of the clothes that must go to charity, and they are all washed and folded and neatly bagged up.

I also went through this giant basket full of old sports clothes that I have. In a way, I think I've been reluctant to tackle that stuff, as I wasn't really "finished" with that part of my life.

It's interesting to think about how meaningful clutter can be. In general, I loathe clutter. It seems to gravitate to me, but I'm not very sentimental about things. I like a few special things to remain, especially my books, but I don't like knick knacks, shall we say.

But my brain doesn't naturally take to organization of that type. It's an interesting thing, given that I am able to model and analyse and parse in my work. With physical things, such as paper (as I've described before), it's a lost cause.

Or at least it was so. I'm learning gradually to discipline myself, by regularly making the effort to consciously look at my space. I force myself to notice things, to dust them :), and to figure out how it is that I could work or function more productively if they were changed around.

This morning when I woke up I instantly knew that I needed to move my two dressers against the long wall of my bedroom. They had been elsewhere, given that I had had my bed in a different position. And this started the whole thing.

It sounds like a small thing, but as I tackle each segment of my overgrown life and weed it, things get so much lighter and easier.

I think that a lot of things function similarly. Here, I hope that I weed my mental garden a little bit.

So tonight I'm dying to make cornbread. The one deficiency in this gluten-free diet that I've been eating is an insufficiency of the type of carbohydrates that I used to get from copious bread eating. I'm lacking ingredients though, so I must go out. I think I'll make it with a pumpkin/squash base, in order to pump in some extra beta-k.

How's THAT for excitement?

Last night I had a HORRIBLE headache. I think I might have gotten a bit of sunstroke!

It's a very weird thing: I have a sort of mediterranean skin (although lighter), so I gradually brown and never burn; C., on the other hand, got quite a bit of colour yesterday. And then I was the one to feel heat stroke. Odd. I've never liked the heat though, I must admit. Believe it or not, I prefer rainy or overcast days, especially for outdoor activities. I don't like bright, clear, harsh sunlight. And I hate to lie out and suntan. Call me weird. I wish I did like it, because I do love the beach and the ocean.

Here are some pics from the bike ride yesterday:

A lake on our new route:

Photobucket

The usual belvedere:

Photobucket


My fave:

Photobucket

An old train bridge:

Photobucket

The chateau named after the faintly delusional Prime Minister who said that "the 20th century will be Canada's century." Um, yeah...

Photobucket

And here's a final, hilarious one for you:

Photobucket

I was trying to take a picture of our Supr3me Court, which is perched atop a cliff.

Instead, as I was biking and couldn't get my camera out fast enough, I ended up simply getting a pic of the barbed wire topping a fence around some sort of drainage area of whatever from the top of the cliff and into the Ott@wa River. So I give you effluent. :) You'll have to trust me that the SC is austere and interesting.

Oh! I almost forgot: the nut-casing that that devious squirrel had left for me as warning on my doorstep.

;-)

Photobucket

OK. I should go out to shop for cornbread ingredients!!

Too bad it's back to work tomorrow. But GREAT that I got so much accomplished. I think I'm slowly coming unstuck!

Hallelujah!

|

7:11 p.m. - 2008-09-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08