Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From the sticky monster

Hello from your friendly neighbourhood goofball!

I'm quite tired today. I didn't sleep very well and I'm also feeling a bit worried/paranoid, so I'm hoping that the two are related. When I say paranoid I only mean in relation to my work/job, not that I'm losing it. :)

Whatever of *it* that I have.

But enough of that!

Do you remember the 24 year-old from work who I mentioned last week might have a crush on me? Well, today he came by to ask me if I knew anything about knitting. Turns out I do! So guess what I was doing late at work tonight?

Teaching a 24 year-old economist how to knit so that he can knit a pair of baby booties!

Oh lord!

He was actually quite quick at picking it up. I was impressed.

So what is the theme today? Well, I was sitting in my office today when I realized that there is something that I should reveal to the world about me...

I think I'm kind of obsessed with sticky notes. I love to write sticky notes to myself on differently-coloured sticky pads. They're, like, a bright thing in my daily life. :)

Some examples:

Photobucket

These I just pulled out of my knapsack pocket, and are stickies on which I have written things like phone numbers that I need this week, or things that I must pick up, or, if truth be told, sort of random equations from time to time.

So the reason why I thought about my stickies today is that I was looking for - ahem - a certain person's address. Of course, I had written said person's address on a...sticky!

And I can't find that particular sticky.

So you see the thing is that my electronic record-keeping at work is MARVELOUS. Really, marvelous.

But for some reason I've never figured out that phone numbers and actual addresses should be stored in some central place. I just sort of assume that the addresses and phone numbers will kind of just *find me* when I need them. I'm hopeful in that way. :)

Here's another example of my marvelous record keeping, with a reminder that in addition to all of the time that I wasted in graduate school studying math and economics...I also am a trained librarian.

I KNOW. IT is SCARY.

Here you go:

Photobucket

And what is this, you might ask? Well, it's a medical requisition that I folded up and put in my backpack - otherwise known as the bottomless pit - and that was REJECTED when I went to get the blood tests done.

Now if you will for a minute, try to imagine my embarrassment as I stood in the lobby of a laboratory whilst an Office Sp@ce worthy receptionist told me that the lab wouldn't accept THAT, as it might have too many unidentifiable foreign particles on it.

I was too polite to respond that my paper needn't get anywhere near any of their sterile facilities, and by the way doesn't she know that there are germs all over the money that she handles and the doorknobs in her office given that many people rarely bother to wash their hands?

No. The sheet was mostly crumpled and it had gotten wet. :) EEK!

I did suggest that she could maybe photocopy it, but...

Nurse Ratchet sent me away.

:)

I know, I know - you're all thinking GOOD FOR HER!


By the way, I'm quite clean in every other way. I'm just sloppy with paper. I have no idea why. :) But even there, I mostly get rid of paper, so I don't have clutter around my apartment either. I just thought I'd set the record straight.

My office, on the other hand, looks like a tornado of stickies hit it - in rainbow colours! - and I LOVE IT! I actually realized at one point today that I was completely OUT of fuschia stickies, and so I went to the cabinet to retrieve more. One must keep the colour balance in the sticky snowstorm intact!

xoxoxoxo

Happy August 19!

|

7:20 p.m. - 2008-08-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08