Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

Oh FRIIIRRRRRRRRRRREEEEEEEEEEEEEEENDS. What a day. This morning, the squirrelly visitor.

Also, I have no idea why I've been so wound up and anxious for the last couple of days. It has interfered with my concentration at work. I can't have that. I stayed late tonight to try to compensate.

Incidentally, the calf or achilles or something flared up again today. And now it feels as though it is almost gone. So something weird is happening in there. It must be an irritation to the bursa or something. The shift in feeling is too extreme to be a simple tendon pull. But I digress.

So GUESS WHAT HAPPENED TODAY???

Today, I decided to call that clinic (group of medical clinics, really), to see if I should be coming in to get the results of those blood tests that I had a few weeks ago.

So at about 10:30, I don't know why I thought of it, I called the clinic. The girl there said, in a very serious voice, after looking at my file, "Oooooohhh....they'll want you to come in."

So I basically thought that I was dying of cancer or something, because you're only supposed to go in if there is something abnormal in the results.

I went straight over to the clinic, waited an hour...and it turns out that in fact all it is is that I am borderline anaemic!

GEEEEEEEESUS.

Pardon my French. Maybe I should have said Welcome to France (WTF :)).

So I'm likely not even anaemic, because my ferritin is 29. When I was running competitively it was always stuck around 30-33. So it is a little bit low for me (well a lot, if you consider what it was when I wasn't running 140 miles per week). So that is interesting. Anaemia can explain a great deal.

The gluten "allergy" test was negative. I read further on the Internet though and it seems that these tests are not that reliable. Furthermore, I'm wondering if in fact my having been OFF of gluten for a month around Italy and then having just started eating it a couple of weeks before the test had an impact. You wouldn't think so, since eating it should trigger the antibodies to form. Not sure. I have felt better this week without wheat though. So maybe I'm simply allergic to wheat. I wish to heck it were easier to figure this out. (Although I acknowledge that my efforts with the health care system have been rather flimsy.) I really want to see my own doctor again. He's sweet. I hope he gets better and comes back to his office, otherwise I'm going to have to look around. This is one time when not having a car is a pain.

So, really, I'm back at ground zero. I realize that I could simply stop eating gluten for good, but that is a very serious choice and great care has to be taken to get many nutrients that I would normally get in whole grains. I'm not fully comfortable with de-glutening myself if I don't need to do so.

So sorry! That was boring! But you can imagine my day. I was already feeling a bit frayed and then I didn't know what to expect. As I write it it doesn't seem like a big deal, but it felt biggish this morning. Oh well.

And I got home and none of the guys to whom I responded yesterday responded back. I must be a weird person. I seem to do most things either wrongly or in an unexpected way. I guess that that's just how it is though.

So, I guess I'll be hitting the beef for dinner to stockpile my iron. Oh, I know why I went on and on about the gluten thing: gluten intolerance often leads to poor iron absorption, and also to things like canker sores in the mouth which (not to gross you out) I've had regularly in recent months. The evidence seems to be there for me. I've really been feeling sluggish and crappy for quite a while.

OK. Sigh! I hope that you aren't thoroughly exhausted with me. I'm going to go and do something productive. Like change out of my work clothes. :)

|

7:24 p.m. - 2008-08-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08