Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Morning routines

My favourite part of my day??

Leaving for work AFTER nine.

It's my one attempt at declaring some sort of feeble independence from the work-a-day world!

Everyone else is sitting at his or her desk at nine, and I stroll in at 9:15. Fortunately my boss is completely fine with me starting between 9 and 9:30. This is mainly because the other guys on my team start at 8:30 and leave right on the dot at 4:30. They have young children. Really, the senior economist I think gets in at 8:30 because he knows he can waste at least a half an hour of the day when no one is there to watch what he is doing. He talks, he surfs the internet, he sends emails.

OK. Stop. No more writing about the se.

So me, I love getting in late. I love getting there when the elevators are mostly free, and I don't have to experience miscellaneous chatter with annoying people.

And then I'm always there later than everyone else at night, enjoying the peace and quiet when I can think. I also get left with the high-stress late-in-the-day jobs, which I suppose is negative compensation.

Still, I am not writing to complain today. I am writing to kill the seven minutes that I have left before I have to leave on my 7 minute stroll to work!

Actually, I'm writing because I'm very excited about something: I slept straight through last night for 8 hours, not waking up until 8:20! Yay.

I got dressed quickly in my navy blue wrap dress with white piping. I love that dress. Add a bone trench and pumps and you're totally set.

I'm now actually EATING BREAKFAST! When C and I went to the supermarket last night I bought GLUTEN-FREE rice cereal. And soy milk. They're both actually QUITE DELICIOUS.

I realize that eating breakfast BEFORE work (rather than AT work, which I usually end up doing) is nothing to crow about, but I'm only now learning the benefits of proper morning organization. I blame my years in high school - my mother had to drag me kicking and screaming out of bed in the mornings, and it was a struggle given the time for her to get me to eat breakfast. Usually there would be oatmeal already prepared, so that made it easy. Maybe that's why I love oatmeal so much - it reminds me of those first groggy bites of food before I had to go to the hell that was high school. (Actually, I always rather liked school, but anything done in the morning - well, except SOME things hehehehehe - is annoying.)

OK. I'm going to sip coffee for another 5-7 minutes, enjoying the sound of the birds outside my window. Then I will close the big window with a sigh, and subsequently count the miserable paces to my office. :) I will briefly hope that no one talks to me this morning. I say it like a little prayer. :)

Have a GREAT DAY!!!! By the way, you're all WONDERFUL!

|

8:53 a.m. - 2008-08-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08