Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dude-l-o-mania, part deux.

Well, you missed part one because I deleted it. But dudes are funny.

Today C. and I went cycling into the Gatineau Hills. And DOH! I forgot both my sunglasses and my camera. Double doh!

Oh my GOODNESS do I ever have a sports car bicycle. Really, it's a ROCKSTAR bicycle.

It is not a Tour de France bicycle, of course, but it is a bicycle that they were advertising in the commercial breaks DURING the Tour de France coverage that I watched last week.

It is so beautiful that it makes me want to cry. :) I kept on telling myself today in my guilt over purchasing it that it is much cheaper and a much better investment than is a car. :)

So I was riding along with C., and no matter WHAT, dudes kept on trying to pass me. Dudes always try to pass me in stupid places, e.g., when I'm on a bike path leading TO the wilderness park. Today all of these silly dudes were trying to race me on the public bikepath on which I was going slowly, since there were families and children and joggers and such there!

Silly dudes!

But of course I was sitting there on my bicycle thinking: Dudes, I have both a stronger heart AND a better bicycle than you. Just watch out on those hills.

And sure enough, C. and I were passing all of these monster dudes on the hills. It makes me feel sorry for them. I really don't want to give them heart attacks.

When I was running I felt much less kindly towards dudes. They would always try to pass me. And I would always lie in wait behind them, letting them burn their testosteron-ee selves out, and then I'd breeze by them. It's utterly unkind, but someone needs to teach dudes to CHILL OUT once in a while.

I'll never forget the owner of the first running store I ever used to frequent. It was this small university town, hard core running store. The owner had been a good competitive runner in his day, and had run many marathons. When I was thinking about doing my first, I asked him why he no longer participated? His answer:

"In the last marathon I crashed and a woman with an ass as wide as a barn door passed me. I swore that I would never again run another marathon."

It made me laugh at the time, but really it's just SAD.

So whoever you are, red-shirted guy, I hope that you learned your lesson today: Girls can go fast, too. Get over it.

Soo....WHAT a great ride! And let me continue by saying that I KNOW WHERE I AM GOING TO PICK UP DUDES!

Really, what could be better than GORGEOUS scenery - a wilderness park, with plenty of hills and pretty lkes - and fit dudes in LYCRA.

I'll have to leave C. at home and will go out much earlier next Sunday (C. is ALWAYS LATE and so we went out at noon)
by myself. I figure that there must be some decent guys who will appreciate a woman willing to push herself. ;-) I was VERY skeptical when I bought my bicycle and they were all out of cycling shorts and so I had to buy a cycling skirt (with the short underneath), but I'm totally down with it now. With my black v-neck running top and silver shoes I look like some sort of a badass tennis player. (Well, as much as I can look like a badass anything with the goofy grin that I have on my face and whilst yelling WHHEEEEEE as I coast down the hills.)

Yeah, I know. I'm an ass. :)

So on the way home I remembered that there is a Turkish festival here this weekend, just a few blocks from my house. I got C. to stop and we ate donairs and baklava in the sun as we watched Turkish dancers. I tried out my best belly dancing routine but I must admit that I am unschooled and C. was mightily unimpressed.

You know, if I had kids this is exactly what I would do. Not belly dancing. :) I would take them to things like these little festivals, because how cool is it to see people doing their thing and sharing their culture with us. I applaud them. And the music was lovely - love the rhythms.

I must say, too, that sex is great and all, but there is just NOTHING that equals exercising yourself to heart-pumping heights and then in your RAVENOUS hunger wolfing down tasty food in the sun with good music playing and your best pain-in-the-ass pal laughing at your belly dancing. Really, it is GREAT.

|

2:51 p.m. - 2008-07-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08