Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Too much writing today. I must launch into other things.

Well after that long, long, long, crazy entry of today, I feel inclined to erase it. Or at least cover it up.

I actually spent my sick day quite productively. I didn't move.

:)

I still feel rather scratchy-throated and so, so tired and dehydrated, but hopefully I'll feel up to working tomorrow. I could in fact justify another sick day, but I'm not sure if I could handle the guilt. Plus the *revenue* system would fall down without me. He he he. :)

I spent quite a bit of time today examining options. One of the things that I investigated was a new volunteer job. The food bank thing I am still doing, but they do not arrange things for our group during the summer. The tutoring thing is just taking so long - kids keep on dropping out of the program. Only A. seems to have been lucky enough to get a long term client. The furniture thing I had to back off from as of last week, as I've already written, as it just goes too late into the night. I can't be out lifting furniture until 1. Really, it's also not safe, if I'm perfectly honest. People donate very old and heavy furniture and the only people who ever show up to volunteer are small women. During the last session someone put down an old leather sofa on my arm as we were putting it into the truck, and if I hadn't screamed I probably would have had a broken arm.

Just what I need in addition to a cracked up heart and the gentle remainders of a concussion from a bicycle accident. :) (The scars on my hands are still ugly purple, unfortunately.)

So anyhow! :) I looked at a whole bunch of volunteer jobs, but I'm on the fence. Everything that appeals to me involves things like work with elderly or disabled people, and I sort of stopped myself and said, "EB! Why don't you let yourself go and sign up for something fun for a few months instead? Your heart is in the right place but you're not getting out and meeting people your own age very often, and you're going to date again PRECISELY NEVER if you don't start do so!"

And then I talked to C. and he reminded me that this photographer guy whom I always talk to at the coffee shop had offered to give me the email of a friend of his who has a group of artist friends - of all experience and ability levels - who hang out in his house and jointly pay the fees to have a model come so that they can draw. So that could be cool. I need to start practising again so that I don't feel like a total wanker if I join.

I also looked into the bicycle club, but I'm really not into clubs. I would be happy if I could just meet a single cool bicycle man or two, who would bicycle far and fast with me. I would like that.

I think I might just volunteer as a one-day volunteer with a ride that they do locally to raise money for MS.

And otherwise I started thinking very seriously about starting to sew again! I used to sew and since I'm getting back into knitting I started thinking about how much cheaper it would be to sew my own clothes again. I could make a couple of tweed skirts for the fall to go with the couple of sweaters that I'm going to knit - thank goodness a classy sort of 40s look is coming back again, as it's my favourite - and for now I could make that shiningly lovely imaginary blue dress that has been running through my head lately.

I'll have to buy a sewing machine though. But those are not too expensive. How fun, non?

I'll have to post some pics of my knitting soon. I'm using a fingering weight yarn right now so the red one is slow going. It's going to be nice when done, I think.

Well that is it. I didn't do any drawing today. BUt then again I really didn't feel that well. I always have so much trouble STARTING. This is why I will carve out a few hours on Saturday to start up.

I think that that is the end of the daily review. I need to get another glass of water.

Sweet dreams, happy thoughts, daffodil days tomorrow! Or how about dreams scented with rosemary????

|

10:33 p.m. - 2008-07-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08