Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm sure I'll be back, but for now I'm attempting to keep this brief.

Well I'm beginning Saturday on a slightly unfortunate foot - under rested.

I should have expected this, given that I was rather energized and awake at midnight, and THEN decided to have a glass of wine.

It doesn't matter how old I grow - I am peculiarly unable to learn from past mistakes.

But anyhow, I am up. And I'm going to follow through on the cleaning up and organizing and drawing that I mentioned to dear saudades that I would do this weekend. It's a nice feeling.

So the date...Dude emailed me to suggest noon today, which is much earlier than I'd expected. I suppose I should get it out of the way. Gosh, don't I sound enthused? (Comme d'habitude. ;-))

Really, I WILL be single into the grave. It's my natural tendency to be so. Hence the prom picture from two entries ago...And perfectly happy I was.

OK. I won't babble on today. I'll be productive. First, too, I'd like to read some newspapers and do some thinking. I think I'll make a list of the research that I want to read for work, as well. (How fun! ;-)) But really, it is fun. I get to work on a couple of very interesting topics - the elasticity of taxable income with respect to marginal tax rates, identification strategies; and labour supply responses of low to middle - income people to the various layered benefit and credit withdrawals. In other words, instead of the very bottom of the income distribution or the very top, for a change I get to work on the second or third deciles. I think that this is a very interesting and neglected part of the distribution - full of not very well-off people who are working hard to support families and make do. The bottom end of the spectrum of course is of great interest to me, but I recognize that at the bottom bottom you're not going to get very far with tax policy alone. Governments are fooling themselves if they think otherwise. Just talk to the social workers. Ooh! Interdisciplinary communication. How unlikely is that! And besides, the E!TC literature is well-developed

Oh! I should mention that I am also thinking about BoXx's collages today. I think that the idea is delightful. I may just do these things myself. I like how she's sorted out the overarching goals for her life: peace, love and happiness.

I do think that we overcomplicate things - me more than anyone - and that I'd greatly benefit from boiling it down to the four or so things that I simply must work towards in order to feel that I've done what I want to do in life. So I think that that's my project for today.

OK. Cheers and beers and peace and smiles today to all!

|

9:30 a.m. - 2008-07-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08