Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rock hard, it is. N3wfoundland, I mean.

My brain really isn't working today, so you'll forgive me if I sound like an idiot! ;)

Ah sigh. So I get a word of the day from wordsmith. I love it. Only I couldn't quite figure why they chose to send out this one yesterday:

coprolite
PRONUNCIATION:
(KOP-ruh-lyte)

MEANING:
noun: Fossilized excrement.


ETYMOLOGY:
From Greek kopro- (dung) + -lite (stone), from lithos (stone).

And you've GOT to see the picture (perhaps don't look if you are eating):

A coprolite of a carnivorous dinosaur, found in Saskatchewan, Canada. (actual size: about 1 foot)

:) Sorry!

Actually, that provides a nice segue. I was going to start this with the following: By the way, the senior economist (senior excrement, anyone?) is a pest. He's a freak, a nuisance...and my goodness I wish he'd just shut up and work. I thought I'd get that off my chest. :)

Soooo...the magical Fifi is going to Nfld on holiday, lucky duck. If ever you have the chance to visit it is a magical place with hospitable people.

So she is excited by visiting a particular town that is undeniably stimulating, a veritable vibrating hotbed of the milk of human kindness.

(Yes, if you'll forgive these horrid word games of mine, there is a town in that fair province called D!ldo. I kid not.)

I myself rather like the names of several other towns in that same jurisdiction. They make me smile. And if you could only hear the natives pronouncing them...

But of course you can hear the accent. Youtub3 to the rescue.. A bit exaggerated, of course.


So here they are:

Come-by-chance

Jerry�s Nose

Kippens

Little Heart�s Ease

Goobies (doesn�t that just ROCK!??)

Nipper harbour (HA!)

Gaff Topsails

And...

Man Point

That last one is for me, rather than Fifi. We know that she has Ned. Do you think that Man Point would furnish me with a worthy husband???

I should mention though that I did some useful things today. Speaking of men, I did make a date with this one guy for Saturday. I'm really all done with that complicated online matching site, and as you know I've been on a grand total of one date since April, but this guy seems nice and patient so I don't think a drink can bother me too much. I'm still feeling a bit like lingering over M., but he's busy and not writing to me and so I realize that it really is best to forget.

The other useful thing that I did today is that I finally checked online for the wait time at the medical clinic down the road, found out that it was five minutes, went out and saw a doctor AND walked to the lab for my blood tests. The whole thing took an hour. No big deal. Done. I'll find out whether I'm a glutenite after all.

Hmmm...what else? I feel as though I must have done something else that was useful today. Really, I have to admit, it was not a good work day. I was distracted and not powered up. I kind of puttered through this model that I am redeveloping. My boss probably thinks that my brain has rotted. HOpefully I'll be sharper tomorrow and will be able to present something to him in the morning. I feel as though I'm on a constant treadmill.

Also, that woman at the other job wrote to me to ask me if I had had any questions about the application. So I had to tell her that I haven't actually applied yet. To be honest, I'm feeling too lazy and tired in the heat. Oops. I suppose I should get on it and jump through the appropriate hoops. It does seem that they really want me, poor fools. ;-)

Oh! And the exciting news is that I got my first pay stub from my department. So it seems that my personnel file has magically been transferred. On the other hand my PAY went DOWN by $20, when it should have gone UP because of the lower taxes on this side of the river, so I'm going to have to deal with that hogwash. UGH!

Well, now that I've thoroughly perturbed you I am going to go and rustle myself up a drink.

Hope you all had daffodil days!


|

6:47 p.m. - 2008-07-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08