Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Soooo happy to be home.

You guys are like an army of wonderfulness! Thank you SOOOOOOOO much for your caring. It means a GREAT DEAL to me.

I can't respond to you all right now but tomorrow I will do so for sure.

Tonight was a CRAZY night of volunteering. Honestly, I think it would have been better to NOT have done it.

We got stuck in a veritable ghetto at 11:30 trying to deliver a sofa that just wouldn't fit. And the lady who runs the organization - as much as I respect her - would not BELIEVE that the sofa wouldn't fit.

But trust me, the sofa was too big.

We were in a tenement with low ceilings and narrow halls and this was a high-end leather sofa that was too large...no matter how you slice it.

So there we were, six women as always, trying to get this bloody thing (please excuse my language) through this door.

I really wanted to scream.

So now I'm all physically wound up and thank goodness I'm home, but I'll be tired at work tomorrow.

I suppose that it is a small price to pay. Each time I do this I realize how lucky I am to live in this good-sized place alone, and to work in a good job. I always forget how crushing poverty is until I look it in the face again.

Tonight, too, we gave a whole heap of toys to a large family from the Congo who had nothing. The joy on the little children's faces when they received the toys and the bicycles was...great!

At the same place we had the funniest experience with this stoned guy who was amazed that it was a "chick moving group."

It occurred to me that maybe one day those little kids will look back and remember that someone cared about them a little bit and brought them some new toys.

It doesn't matter, anyhow, but maybe it will help them to feel more included in the community?

I don't know.

At any rate...I am hungry and tired and unable to sleep. It makes me wonder if I should be doing this volunteer work on a week night. Probably not. I can't afford to not be *on* on the job.

Incidentally, the woman from the other department contacted me again today and told me that the competition is on over there. They want me to apply. The deadline is July 11, so I'd better get my application in. One possibility looming on the horizon.

Well I do hope that you all are well! I am frazzled - which came out of nowhere - but I will be fine.

Oh lordy. I think I make life too complicated for myself. :) And I'm letting my feelings get hurt by all of those online guys who are deleting me with nasty reasons why. I mean, they don't even know me. If they did they could come up with MUCH better reasons!! Now let's see if I can rustle up something to eat at this late hour.

I wish each and every one of you very sweet dreams.

|

12:56 a.m. - 2008-07-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08