Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm a little bit red, I guess.

I am the WORST Canadian.

I was standing in my kitchen with the skylight open and the Snow B!rds (acrobatic Air Force team) did their fly by and I just about jumped out of my shorts. (Nice sonic boom.)

That's what you get for living a few hundred metres from Parliament Hill.

Yeah. I live a few blocks from the gigantic, monstrous festivities and I am not out in them. One of my favourite bands, Blu3 Rod3o, is playing right now. I'm not there. (Although they are playing again on the hill tonight and the hill is all pretty at night so I might go there. And I might even take some pictures.)

I will pretend to be Patriotic (with capital intentional).

You know, they always have people on the radio talking about how great is this country, how they came from Rwanda and this country gave them refuge...

but I think that nationalism is dangerous. I view it with suspicion.

And I particularly shiver at the dull Canadian variety of it that is really an invention of the last two decades. All it comes to is some massive beer fest of red and white face painting with people repeating over and over again a line from a beer ad, inclusive of a brand name: "I am Canadian."

And really meaning nothing of more substance than, "I am NOT American."

And you know what I think about that silliness.

Well, I can either sit inside with the radio on listening to the "101 things that make us Canadian" (barf), or the "best Canadian music of all time, as brought to you by your CeeBeeCee radio announcers," or "the most Canadian food: a competition," or I can go outside for a walk and try to avoid marauding painted red people who are just looking for a place to pee.

And this year there are extra guards on the W@r Memorial, so it won't be there.

:)

Have a great day.

And Happy Birthday Canada. I do like some things about you very much, and don't get me wrong -I am deeply, deeply grateful for the peace and opportunities that you have given to me. And for your lone pines. I think that I am one of them.

|

1:00 p.m. - 2008-07-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08