Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sunday freshness

I'm eating a giant bowl of porridge with soft chopped dates and brown sugar sprinkled over it.

The porridge is actually gluten-free, so I'm trying to be good. It's so beautiful that it is a work of art. If only I had some cream...

Lovely.

I had some dumb thought a moment ago: I wouldn't trust someone who didn't like porridge!

That is stupid, of course! But what an earthy food. Porridge is sunrise in the country. Porridge is cuddling oneself in a warm woolly sweater and swathing one's chilly toes in wool socks on a cold winter morning. And porridge matches the sound of the morning loons on a lake in the bare summer cottage of my grandparents, smelling mostly and maybe only of cedar.

I miss the woods and the lakes. I really don't have time for a proper road trip anywhere distant this summer, however, so it is good that the Gatin3au Hills at least are nearby. They are not the land of my mind's eye, but they are pretty nevertheless.

I actually don't like the cottage country around Ottawa. I really shouldn't say that. But I was spoiled as a child with the rocky, austere, magnificent north shore of Lake Sup3rior, the Canadian Shi3ld, and the wild rocky islands of Georgian Bay, the lone pines. Cottage country around here is, in relative terms, flat. It is also marshy. Marshes I find creepy, for some reason. Though I do like herons. I used to carve wooden versions of them. Hmm...

You can't really escape visions of the landscapes that make your heart sing. For me these landscapes are dramatic and wild and empty and clean. They are the north. They are unfriendly, unyielding. Few others will come close (except for pretty, pastoral Tuscan landscapes, of course ;-)). We all have these attachments, I think. They are places that are simply home.

|

1:20 p.m. - 2008-06-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08