Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Muffin stealer!

I'm going to say something really catty here. Have I ever mentioned the bachelor guy who lives in the bachelor apartment at the bottom of my house?

Really, the guy is harmless. He's just moderately annoying, in the "I just can't help myself but have to ask you what you're doing or where you're going, whenever I see you," and "I love to leave my apartment door open so that you will have to interact with me whenever you want to leave the house," variety.

I really don't mind interacting with people, but I don't much like interacting with people when they FORCE me to interact with them.

Anyhow.

So the thing that amuses me about this guy is that he's sort of an aging hippie type. My understanding from the landlord is that he has recently "gotten God," so perhaps that's good for him.

But the guy honestly has eleven children. And he lives in a tiny bachelor apartment by himself.

What I find interesting about this is how it is that some guys manage to procreate muchly and with many women. He's not particularly classy, he obviously doesn't have money, and MY GOODNESS IS HE EVER NEEDY.

I mean, kudos, maybe, to the women for not actually being with him now, but ELEVEN CHILDREN?

He really can't be THAT compelling.

I'm always amused. Always amused. Some guys manage to do this, and I always wonder. Spread the seed, you know.

But then again I suppose that someone has to do it, since so many of us these days are barren. :)

Anyhow!

Today was sort of a bad day. I woke up soooo late. I slept through my alarm. I've been feeling sort of so-so, too. I think it's just stress. Nevertheless I am going to go to a medical clinic on either Wednesday or Thursday morning. I can't go tomorrow, really, as I have to go to the second day of that programming course. If I feel worse overnight, of course, I will go to a clinic tomorrow. Better safe than sorry. Really though I'm confident that I'm OK. My sinuses are really stuffed so perhaps that's what's going on. I'm rather paranoid as a rule.

I think I need to eat more, too.

Oh! Funny story! Today, I had to try, finally, to sort out my personnel file. I won't tell you about what is still wrong with my personnel file, since you just wouldn't believe it. Also, you'd never trust the Canuck lovernment ever again.

I got one of the admins to go down with me to HR, to talk things over in person (because otherwise they barricade themselves away). And the funny part is that on the way we noticed that there were trays of muffins in the lobby of the building.

There had been a kick-off breakfast for the start of "PUblic S3rvice Appreciation Week" (I'm not joking - really) this morning, so we assumed that these muffins were left over from that. So we took a couple.

My admin then ran off to do another errand, and I got into the elevator in our tower.

Now I should tell you that our tower is very confusingly shared with another government branch that I'll just call the "Pirate's Hoard." Hopefully you can guess at what that means. Really, if you want to think about it one way, my department figures out how the money gets spent; that department holds the purse strings.

Anyhow. So I had to laugh because the WORLD'S HOTTEST GUY got into the elevator with me.

It was just me and him. Really, this guy was ASTOUNDINGLY attractive. I actually couldn't quite believe that he was real.

So he starts smiling at me and he says, "You know, today was not OUR day. The breakfast today was for the Pirate's Hoard, not for us. Did you take one of their muffins?"

And I'm like - trying not to spit out my muffin - "Um...(grinning) guess so."

And then he winks at me and says, "It's OK."

To which I say, "I'll be sure to invite someone from the Pirate's Hoard to eat MY muffin tomorrow."

(Yeah, right.)

And then he winks again, and I get out of the elevator.

So, that was funny. I actually had had NO idea that there were different days for us to have breakfast. I had stolen some of their coffee this morning, too, therefore, as it turns out. EEK! :) Which is actually really funny, since when you think about it our two departments are a bit like a married couple with financial issues and locked in a power struggle - we decide on the hypothetical, intentional spending and collection, but ultimately they control the metaphoric credit cards.

Really, I had no idea that we had a guy THAT good looking working in the building. He was like Jude L@w and J@vier Bard3m all rolled into one guy. Unbelievable.

Of course we know that I have no use for guys who are that good looking. My feeling is usually that people who are that good looking are usually not all that intellectual or interesting, given that they haven't been FORCED to be something other than, well, hot.

But having said that, he works for my department, which means that in the minimum he has one graduate degree. So, maybe I'm being unfair.

But if a guy is THAT good looking AND has at least a certain level of academic competence...he has to have

THE WORLD'S LARGEST EGO.

Non?

Anyhow. Don't worry - I am not interested in any men at the moment.

Speaking of men, M. has not replied to my email about my accident. I'm assuming therefore that he is off on his tour. The poor man wrote to me last week that he is on a tour this week with 17 people, INCLUDING children. Really, I feel for him. He told me how much he hates to lead tours with children on them.

Honestly, parents who think that it is a good idea to take children on multi-kilometer tours through the Tuscan hills are...nuts.

M. has told me that it is so difficult because the children really don't want to be there, and also they get tired and bored and inevitably the logistics are mindboggling in terms of lugging them around and loading and reloading their bikes as their parents ride. M. also therefore has to entertain them in his car, and he worries A LOT for their safety, too. I feel for him. Really, I think he should charge a premium for these tours. People, however, expect discounts. Anyhow. The poor guy needs to earn a living.

Honestly, this is something I would love to help out with. I wish I could help out on tours like this! So, when I move to Florence, I will offer up my services. :)

Speaking of moving to Florence, I felt more clear-headed about this today. I mean, it's still a very vague and fuzzy goal. But today I thought through life and options and the kind of passion that I need in my work and in my life, and I realize that I *must* and I *will* make a major change.

The change will just have to be slow and incremental, and where I'm going to end up isn't going to come to me overnight.

I've been thinking though that maybe I *should* start dating and stuff again here. Not hiding away would probably help me to figure out more clearly if I am actually not *trying* to live here, or if I really must get out quickly. I mean, I don't have to marry anyone. Also, no guy should have expectations of me that I'll stick around. It's just dating. So why not. I think I'll contact that Spanish guy who asked me out last Wednesday. I have no idea if we have anything in common but I have to say that he 1) has an interesting job (program stuff pertaining to labour supply of temporary foreign workers); 2) is very large and muscular but when I asked him about his sports he told me that he's really into yoga (and only yoga) at the moment; 3) he actually was an immigrant himself fairly recently; and 4) he was the one who started cleaning up first after the party - taking down the volleyball net, organizing the food items. I think he might be a nice guy. Plus he's a friend of Dan's.

I'm really meandering here. There is another guy who asked me out a couple of weeks ago, but I told him to get in touch with me in a couple of weeks to see if I have decided to start dating. I told him at that time that I wasn't sure.

I think that's it. I need to eat something. I also need to decide if I"m going to cancel my hair cut appointment for Thursday. I hate the way they always want you to book so far in advance. I love my hairstylist though. But right now even though my hair is a bit scruffy I think it looks kind of sexy and fun, so maybe I should leave it for a while.

Oh, what am I talking about?

|

7:40 p.m. - 2008-06-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08