Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

irony

Ohh I am so wiped out. I got none of my administrative jobs done today, and really I should go to the mall now to buy some shoes and replace my cardigan.

Soo...a pretty good day but I'll admit that I slept too little last night. And as I've written multiple times before, my lack of sleep is always perfectly correlated with any feelings of anxiety expressed subsequently...here.

TOday was the final day of the programming course. I actually did really well today, which made me happy. But that horrible teacher has something in for me, for she said a couple of completely untrue and tactless things. Really, I don't know why everyone needs to be in competition with me!

Anyhow. SO the funny part of the day came later. I biked back to the office for a late meeting and unfortunately it had rained about an hour before. So, stupidly, I realized as I got about 2/3 back to the department - passing through a construction area, no less - that I had mud sprays all over my jacket, my shirt...

(I hadn't bothered to worry about changing clothes, since the distance isn't very far.)

SO I get to work and I have mud up my arse, mud on my knapsack, mud all the way up the back of my jacket, mud all over my front, mud all over my face (as I discovered later).

And I get in the elevator with a couple of other people and think, "Gee, who are these two little mormon-looking boys all pretty and suited and playing with blackberries."


And I hear a grumpy voice behind me complaining about some speech or something, and I start to think, "Hmm...personal assistants. Speech..."

And I look around and of course the SINISTER is standing behind me. I've only been in the elevator with him once before.

I could see him looking at me strangely.

I mean, I felt like turning to him to say, "See, I'm a GOOD public servant. I was saving you guys taxi fare so that I could come back, after a long day, for another meeting."

But I didn't.

And then - how 'bout this irony - I get into the office and a senior guy from another unit in the branch comes by to say that I've been selected to sit and have lunch with the person just under the SINISTER at our branch retreat tomorrow.

So I'm kind of looking at the guy quizzically, and I think, "WHAT THE HELL!? DO I HAVE TO?"

But I refrain from this and instead ask something in the neighbourhood of "Why, if I may ask?"

To this he mumbled something to the effect of there being people here who make an important contribution who are not known personally by this person, and that the director had chosen me.

Are they trying to *keep* me here, or trying to get me to *run* away? ;)

ANyhow. Needless to say I am not looking forward to this, not the least because now I'm going to have to dress well for this damn retreat tomorrow. I'll also have to refrain from, well, opening my mouth. ;) But whatever. It's only lunch. Perhaps I'll keep myself busy by mostly just stuffing my face with food.

Oh, guys, I'm so tired. But I suspect that I should shop. Or maybe not. Maybe I should do that tomorrow. I could perhaps just...I dunno...search the job ads, buy stuff on ebay :), dance around to music? Stealing a line from boXx: Peace, love and happiness:

|

7:08 p.m. - 2008-06-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08