Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sun soaked and SOOOOO drenched in olive oil and the scent of ginestra. Must go to Santa Maria Nov3lla tomorrow to buy some perfume with that scent....Wish you were here!!

Well what do you say about a day like that?

Magic. I can't begin to describe it - a phenomenal ride through among the most beautiful country I have ever seen, major laughs with my wonderful guide, a really spiritual moment when I slipped into an old church in this tiny little town at the end of our journey, an AMAZING country trattoria lunch at which the old lady who had made the pasta served us her specialty.

Wow. What a lucky person I am. And I take back what I said about Americans. Well, sort of. But there was pretty much the nicest American guy whom I have ever met on the tour, and he and I got into a magical cycling rhythm. It was a great ride.

What else? Well, Marco, my guide, looked so sad as he took my money. He said, "I don't want to take your money. Sometimes you form a relationship with clients. You're fun, you're a strong girl, and you're such a nice person."

So he invited me to join him for free on another tour that he is doing on Wednesday, but I said no given that I haven't yet done any ART!!! ACK! Still, it is tempting, and he told me I could call him if I reconsider. But then again I am smart enough to know that you can't in general recreate the magic of a particular day. This one will go down as one of the best I have ever experienced (when not with close friends or relatives).

Beautiful!!! And such goooooooood food.

Sadly, the cute Polish guy left this morning. We had breakfast together this morning though and it was awesome.

So this trip reminds me again that my only real problem in life and why I never seem to have a boyfriend is...either 1) that I live in Ottawa and there is something wrong with the other people in Ottawa :); or 2) that I simply don't expose myself to people enough. I really get along with pretty much everyone.

At the same time I suppose the thing is that I have put myself in a situation of being a traveler among other travelers. Of course I would connect with people.

I'm not sure what else to write. I could write so much. It is a beautiful life. Well except for the excess sun that I got today on my face and on my shoulders. Whoops!

Today there was a total mishap on the tour in that an older American couple joined the American guy and I, and they were not at all fit or interested in biking. They ended up riding in the van. They fought about it. It was kind of sad. But they were a very nice couple, especially individually, so I had the guy laughing over lunch over my right breast squeeze at least. At the end of the tour he took both my hands and thanked me for my great company. So that was nice.

Oh! The best part!! Marco told me after I had climbed the major hills that he was telling the American couple in the Van how great my pedal stroke is - so steady and with the right pressure and unrelenting. He told me that when I go back home I should seriously consider taking up competitive cycling.

So it seems that I have few talents in life, but athletics and I cannot escape one another. It is always pretty exactly what people told me about my running - I had the steadiest gait and natural pacing and rhythm. So that's interesting. It was such a wonderful ride. I love to push myself. I don't know why. Maybe because it makes me feel alive. There are many things that do that.

Well that is not to compliment myself. I'm just grateful and happy.

What else? Well the tour ended in such a cool way in that Marco and the American guy and I sat in a cafe eating gelato and watching a bit of the Italian version of the Tour d3 France, which started today. It was exciting. I tried out a little bit of my pathetic Italian on the bar owner. There were men upstairs screaming over the soccer match on tv, and little old woman walking slowly back to their houses from the little church in that sleepy little town.

I think that that is it for now! I should eat something but really I just feel like going to bed. Oh, and I'm going to be hurting tomorrow - I ate pasta today. I just couldn't help myself - it was beautiful.

OK. Ciao bellas! I'm going to see if I can get into some more trouble tonight. I want to go to this Caribbean discotheque that Marco pointed out to me. Not sure if I can make it over there though. To be honest, the Australian dude is leaving tomorrow and I'm going to have to deal with those attentions as a result! Oh and my cooking slash eating slash marketing course is tomorrow. I am so lucky!!!

xoxo

PS I think I have learned that I am too judgmental. This morning, when I first met the American guy I thought he was probably the dumbest American I have ever met. The first thing he said to me was something to the effect of "I just don't know how you can wrap your head around those Italian words. How did you remember the name of the river? I mean, I don't know about you, but "Arno" has never struck me as a particular tongue twister. As I said, however, this guy turned out to be one of the most awesome, open-minded, joyful, delightful and generous guys I've ever met. That's a special kind of American thing. It's just too bad that the naivete can be so annoying at times.

OK. I must go!

|

8:29 p.m. - 2008-05-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08