Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

OK. Exuberance MIGHT be taking me over. And my lord have I EVER BEEN EATING SOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH.

Buongiorno, bongiorno my friends.

OMG I'm in love with Italy all over again. I love Florence - its bright, warm light; its passion; its characters; its dirty crevices.

Today is cycling in Chianti! Yes!

Yesterday I climbed Brunelleschi's mysterious Du0mo, was chased by a Moroccan poster-selling dude in Santa Croce (the square, not the church). I then bought a poster; got a photo. AND after bargaining him down mercilessly I gave him a whopping tip. He was shocked. In the photo I look smug. Not so good. But persistence actually should be rewarded, resilience applauded in the face of adversity and exclusion. I love those scrappy little guys. :)

And, anyhow, there but for the grace of God go I, or so they say.

So the only fly in the ointment yesterday is that I ended up spending the day with this really lovely older English-Australian dude who I think is going to ask me to bear him a fourth child - he already has three, plus two ex-wives on two continents.

Lovely guy, but why is it that the older dudes they love me...and the younger dudes don't talk to me. ACKKKKKKKKK.

Or maybe its the needy dudes who like me. This one reminds me of the poet scientist. Anyhow. There is not time for that. I wish I found him sexy - I find him lovely and sweet and very interesting....but my lord laddies DO NOT - I repeat NOT - wear denim WITH denim. Add running shoes to the ensemble and s3x is ancient history, people! I wish I could trade in on s3x. No, no I cannot. And in fact, were I to, I beieve he might cry. I'm totally serious though - I think he might ask me to marry him today! The dude has canceled his plans to go to Rome so that he can wait for me to get back from my bike tours. And I TOLD him - NO! This is a one-woman journey through Tuscany. I loved his company yesterday but I am NOT looking for romance on this trip. And definitely not of the moving-to-Australia variety. Been there and done that... Sigh.

Like I said, the older dudes, they like me. This guy is not THAT old, but he looks much older than I do as he is not in good form... I think maybe I need to turn the spotlight down on compassionate empathisizing and turn it up on young woman on the prowl. Ah who am I kidding? I can't do it. There should be a course on this.

OK. Gotta run for my cycling. I just love this country!

I hope that you are all well. I thought of you as I stood at San Min3ato al Monte at sunset last night, watching the red and orange glow tinge the grey-green olive groves into an undulating hillside of ethereal peace. I revere. I revere. And I persevere. Smiling!

Ciao! Ciao! Bacis!

|

7:36 a.m. - 2008-05-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08