Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SO many photos but uploading will be difficult! (And I don't have software for cropping.)

First, Fifi, I'm so relieved to hear that you are feeling better. That must be so painful. I can't exactly think about it. I will be thinking of you and wishing you speedy healing!!!

I have so much to write already, you wouldn';t believe it. and great photos! Please don't mind the text - Italian keyboards are not going to be my thing. :)

So I nearly missed my flight from Paris to Florence. Were I not a marathon runner I would NOT have made it. And the Air Franc3 workers were only shrugging their shoulders. I am going to have nightmares about CDG in future. There I was at 1 a.m. home time, RACING about two miles through and around a massive airport, inclusive of a trek THROUGH French customs.

Some nasty German guy - and I hesitate to say that (sorry super C!) - had a fight because he pushed his way up through line in customs ahead of me, even though we were on the same flight. The sweet justice of life is that...he couldn't run! I didn't want him to miss the flight but I certainly didn't want to miss it because of him!

So I got to Florecne and the tough part is that given that I am in a hostel - and it is a great hostel, I'm really impressed - I could not check in right away. So what does EB do?

Yes! She starts walking. She walks into the hills. Until she realizes that she is dead tired and that some guy has been following her and that her bags are really just that little bit too heavy for a ten mile trek. So there you go! I had a moment on the trek back of that intense travel fatigue that you get when you haven't slept and you don't want any annoying tourists -and god there are so many in Florence, which is why I went to the hills - in your way! :) I thought, "Why am I here, again?"

OH yeah, and I did the STUPIDEST THING. What would every guidebook on earth probably tell you, if you were to actually read them?

DO NOT BUY GELATO NEAR THE DUOMO!

Yes, I paid enough for a gelato to feed an entire Ottawan family of four all the gelato they could want one fine sunny evening on Elg!n Street.

But no matter. I got to be a dumb sucker tourist for my one time on this trip. I was just so famished...

OK. So no excuses. :)

I think that's all for now. I got back to the hostel, checked in, had a three hour nap. Now I'm going to go back out to add to the fifty or more pictures that I took today (and yes - I got a pic of the guy who followed me into the hills).

You know, when someone follows you in italy you get the feeling that if you were to just turn to him and say que? (cheay), or something like that- I don't know the word, I'm guessing - he'd just say, "I wanted to follow you signorina, because I could not resist. I want to make l0v3 to you."

And, really, one wonders exactly how one could resist in such a landscape.

OK. I think I'm seeking sunsets over a pont.

|

6:39 p.m. - 2008-05-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08