Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sometimes even *I* think that I should slap myself and say, "Get over yourself!"

I'm as changeable as the winds!

So what a maudlin entry this morning. I think I just needed to get it out of my system.

I'm getting all fired up about Italia! I spent a few hours in a flurry of activity - opening up the boxes of books that my mom finally sent to me. They're not all there - some important ones were missing - and my travel journal was in there and opened so I know that she read it, even though she KNOWS that I hate the way that she always pries into my stuff.

Anyhow!

No worries. So the clothes are all laid out and they are completely different than I said this morning. They're all in tonal browns with a splash of turquoise or deep blue thrown in. There may still be some yellow added in but there is enough yellow in Italy already...add to it a DAFFODIL! and we're good.

For a while there the packing was funny. I was walking around the apartment in my one-piece speedo and my walking shoes. (I remembered that there is a lovely outdoor pool in the Cascine park in Firenze, so I'm going to bring my one crazy bronze strappy Am3rican Appar3l skimp-tastic one piece for sunbathing, and then my speedo for cutting through the water. (OK, dragging my legs - I've never been a great swimmer, though I can go on and on.)

My sports clothes are darned heavy though. I have to bring cycling AND running clothes. Fortunately the bathing suits do not take up much space. :) What a pain. I'm too small to carry that stuff.

OK. That's all. I'm going to dance and sing and go out to the pharmacy before it's too late!

Oh and of course I have to take my sketchpads in my carry on. For an evening dress I think instead of black I'm going to take this pink-hued airy brown thing with little flowers at the hem, and a sleek black skirt with a strappy, ruffled, delicately-flowered silk chiffon with black satin straps tank-y thing. So cute! OK. This is going to be fun. THe only dress it is BREAKING my heart not to bring is my Audr3y Hepburn sleeveless black sheath that is gathered at the waist and is BREATHTAKING. I know - totally wrong movie. That one was in NYC and involved pearls, cigarettes, moony rivers :) and, well, melancholy. That is NOT this trip. I think it's more Rom@n Holiday, although I actually decided against the puffy skirts. I want to feel more womanly than girly. And as much as I adore Kath3rine H3pburn, I'm just not a Summ3rtime kind of dresser. Anything that looks like a sack...looks like a sack on my frame. I mean, I want to be mysterious but not eclipsed!

OK. C'est tout (tutto!?).

ACK. MY ITALIAN PHRASE BOOK WAS NOT IN THE BOXES!

ACK! OK. Gotta run.

Nevermind. I forgot! I have a "Teach yourself Italian" book from 1943 (maybe I can learn to say, "And what *do* you think of the fascists?" in Italian), a book on "Italian Cities" written in 1905 by a guy called Cecil Fairfield Lavell (hope he has something interesting to say), and DH Lawrence's travel writings - Twilight in Italy; Sea and Sardinia; and Etruscan Places.

DOH! Thank goodness that I'm the lamest secondhand book shopper ever!

|

3:41 p.m. - 2008-05-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08