Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Many apologies for the nothing that is this entry!

Hello!

AAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHH. I'm tired.

But, you guys, I can't wait to get my gluten tests, because I really, really think that this is what has been plaguing me. It's kind of odd to say, but I've known that there has been something off with me for quite some time. Years, even.

I've stopped eating any gluten containing foods and all of a sudden my energy level is much, much higher, my abdomen is no longer swollen, and I feel so much more optimistic. It's quite an interesting thing, given that I've always eaten a great deal of bread. But the trick is that I've not eaten it every day. I would go a couple of days without having any, and then I would eat a half a loaf. I've always loved bread.

And the most interesting thing - not sure if I wrote this the other day - is that in the period in which I was *on fire* when I was running, I coincidentally had stopped eating bread. I didn't eat bread for a whole six months. This was because when I began training that spring I was carrying a few extra pounds. I was running a great deal and I thought it best that as I increased my mileage I do a super focused diet of lean protein and tons and tons and tons of veggies, some fruit. That was how I ate for six months. And at the end of the six months I won the Victoria marathon. The important part is not that I won, it's that I never again felt as easy or fast as a runner. I ran faster subsequently, sure, but the effort was much greater, and I'd been training so much with a coach, as I had not when I won Vic.

All very interesting. So if I have the gluten thing and it has been preventing me from absorbing iron and other nutrients...would explain so much. It seriously could be a miracle.

Anyhow. I'm going to start taking iron tablets. I'm almost positive that I'm currently anemic.

OK. Enough about health! I'm trying to decide if I shoudl buy a special dress for the Italy trip. I know, I know, perhaps I should buy one there. BUt there is one that I am eyeing on ebay - blue and cream. So pretty. I don't have any light-coloured summer dresses. All of my clothes are so dark and drab. Well except for my red dress.

Babbling again.

The charity gala was quite nice, if a bit sedate. Lovely, lovely C. bid on and won an autographed copy of Romeo D@llaire's Rwanda book and an associated DVD - the movie, not the documentary - starring Roy Dupu!s. C. was in hot competition with a number of other people, and ended up paying a fortune. He already has a copy of the book and did not care much about the DVD. But one of the things I admire most about C. is that he doesn't waste money on gadgets or clothes or other trivial things (unlike me on the clothes front). As a result, he has money just piling up in his bank account. So far this year he has given a whole chunk of money to the United Way campaign at work, to a school in Kenya, and to the refugees furniture charity now. He's very generous and always kind with his money. My friend.

Too bad he's such a curmudgeon! If you want to know something funny, I'll tell you that he was unbelievably grumpy when Am and I picked him up last night! He was only grunting to us. I think he was mad at me because I was 7 minutes late. And then when we were there he wasn't very friendly to all of my girlfriends, even though half a dozen were swooning over him. I get kind of sick of the whole thing of explaining to my friends for the twelfth time that I am not dating C and will never date C., because he's really my brother more than a "guy" in my life. He's single and free! I think they doubt me, and yet they all think he is gorgeous. He could have his pick of them if he wanted. Crazy man just doesn't know how to focus his attentions on the right women. Any one of those girls would be lovely for him to date, but instead he goes after these women he knows through work who tease and taunt him. Crazy!

What else? OH yeah. IIIIII met a guy last night. Only I think he ended up thinking that C. is my boyfriend, because I left with him. DOh!

The guy had volunteered to do drumming performances for the event. And I ended up being in his drumming circle near the end and he taught me to play the conga drum. There was definitely an attraction thing going on there. But DOH! I did not get his phone number. I am a wanker!

Speaking of which, I still have not emailed the cycling coach from last week, who I think kind of liked me, too.

Today, though - you'll laugh - I ended up walking home with the guy from the spinning class who was the object of my interest way back when. It was completely accidental. It was the last class and we had all gone for lunch and he and I ended up going in the same direction when we parted from the group. I realized during the conversation yet again, however, that you couldn't pick a more wrong guy for me. There's something just so dull and straightlaced about the guy. And predictable. And every reaction of his to anything I said was just WRONG!

Do you know what I mean? When you're talking to someone perfectly nice and you realize that they just don't get you?

Anyhow. When we got to my turnoff he asked me to come out running with his Sunday group, and invited me to ride with his cycling group on Saturdays. And then he paused/hesitated or something and then said "I have your email."

So I think he was about to ask me out. Thank goodness he didn't. But anyway if he does I can take one of two options: 1) go out with him, anyhow, as he's very cute :) ; 2) tell him that I've decided to take the year off dating to pursue other things.

I'll likely take the latter one. I'm guessing that my spidey-sense about the guy not being a good match for me is probably pretty spot on. It would be a waste of my time.

If only I could get the details of the drummer! He was wearing a gawd-awful shirt last night, I must say. He's not even that attractive. But I was rather intrigued by him. THere was something about his manner. He was very gentle and nice. He was tall and trim. He apparently used to be a chef at a very posh place, and then he changed careers and now works in some kind of a government job. And obviously he drums. He actually had about twenty percussion instruments there for the drumming thing. And of course he was at and donating his time to this organization that I think is really cool, too. So this is a potentially worthwhile guy. I guess the question would be whether he is sufficiently intellectual to interest me. I will have to find out somehow.

Oh! Oh! Incidentally, Ms. C. from my old workplace was there. And she mentioned that the senior managers were talking about me the other day. Made me kind of sad. They have a new director general and they were informing him that their best remaining quantitative person - me! - had gone to Line Dance. Made me sad. She said that I could come back there, of course. BUt I don't believe in going backwards. It's just not a good idea.

OK. That is it. I'm feeling pretty good. I need to decide on that dress though. I'm really annoyed as there was another vintage dress that I wanted to win this week that was much cheaper than this one, but the auction ended at 1:40 a.m. on a work night and of course someone massively outbid me at that time! Some west coast person, undoubtedly! I'm not very scientific or strategic about these things, surprisingly - I just leave it up to fate.

Dumb, dumb commercial strategy.

OK. Time to decide on dinner. The spinach and bacon omelette that I had after the sprints class is...gone. I'm starving!!

|

7:53 p.m. - 2008-04-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08