Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My rants are produced with a smile. :)

I'll make this quick, as I just got home and it's midnight. Yawn.

Let me first preface this by stating that when I rant it's just for fun! I'm honestly highly amused by the world. ;)

Tonight was the refugee furniture charity thing. We delivered to a woman who saw her son buried alive and her husband killed with a machete in Rwanda, and a woman from the Congo who had been here for a year and who had nothing. So there you go.

But the problem with this charity work is that it is difficult to coordinate so many different bodies. Moving stuff - often heavy stuff - is difficult enough as it is. I fancy myself rather efficient, but it's not always easy to be heard.

The other thing is that we pick up furniture from a wide variety of people. All of the furniture is pre-checked so it is *nice*, but much of it is older and so heavy and large. We moved the HEAVIEST spanish oak wardrobe and dresser today. And we're moving the stuff into awful, squat apartment buildings with tiny elevators. Horrible.

The first apartment had cooking smells in it that made me feel like I was going to gag. I felt so terrible. It's all so sad.

Anyhow.

There is also a lady the others call the "chicken lady" who volunteers every time. She's a very well-meaning, sweet lady, but she's, uh, the stupidest human alive. You really do feel like she's BAWK bAWK BAWKing around you, and you want to knock her over when she starts pulling at heavy things as you and someone else are carrying it down a long hallway (e.g. doors on a cabinet). WTF?

Sorry for the language. OY. I'm quite patient with people. But this woman was a bit much even for me to handle. Completely unhelpful.

Ah well!

Did I mention yesterday that it was really windy outside after I managed to get out of my building last night, and a banner flew off a building and nearly hit me? And then that as I was returning home from the mall I cut through the park by the city hall and some eerie, staring, creepy man walked by me and I felt scared?

Oh yeah - yesterday was a crazy day.

Today was an OK day, I guess, except that I still feel, as always, uncomfortable in my job. BUt forge ahead. Dan told me that there would be no problem getting a position in his unit back at my old department, so I may set up a meeting with his manager to discuss keeping me in mind for positions in the next 6 months.

Otherwise, I went to my French class, which has been extended until the end of May. I hate my French class now. I think I've figured it out: because it reminds me of how much I don't fit into this department.

Because I'm a bit more advanced than most new recruits to the department I'm with people who have been there for four or so years, say. But the problem is that many of them are still quite young. And in any event these people are St3pford people. Not only does that girl still snigger when I make a mistake, but today I was subjected to a conversation of endless fascination to them: their home entertainment centres.

I mean, I can't even fathom WHY someone would pay $2000+ for a television, and why someone would have a tv that needs to be screwed up into a wall? I just don't get it. The girl even said that it's so large that the people all look ugly and weird. They have to sit very far back. Duh! I mean, 43 inches or something like that. I sort of stopped listening.

Yes, yes, I do have a 15" box tv on which I watch all of my movies. It is true.

And then the girl started talking about how her husband likes hockey so much that when they went camping last year they had to bring along a tv in order to watch a game. So she was describing how much fun it was to sit around the campfire with her husband and his buddies watching the tv.

Can you even guess at the expression on my face at this point?

Befuddlement, confusion, muffled shock, maybe?

I'm just so different from these people. I'd tell my husband to marry his tv before I'd ever take it camping with me. I mean, camping with electricity!??

Shocking!

OK. Now that I've exposed myself and helplessly judgmental...

Oh! Exciting! There is a Latin America film festival starting with the Canadian F!lm Institute this weekend. I'm so excited. I will be watching many films in the next couple of weeks, in the darkened and cold hall at the national archives. As all anti-social, single 37 year-old women do. Meh. I like it.

Take care and sleep well! Cheerio!

|

11:58 p.m. - 2008-03-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08