Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Will someone feed me a grape, please?

What a FANtastic day!

I don't know what I would have done had I not had this four-day long weekend at this time. It has been a loooooooonnnnnngg winter. My honest belief is that it's not just that we don't separate church and state here and thus have retained Easter as a holiday for the honour of all of those founding father Christians and their pious brethren. It's that it's SUUUUUCHHH a long winter.

My feet have been wet and my skin dry for MONTHS now. I mean, I like winter. I really do. I've actually endured this winter very well. The beautiful canal helped quite a bit. Next year I will be cross-country skiing every weekend I have determined, so that is how I will get through at that time.

But man oh man am I looking forward to seeing a canoe paddle again. And pine trails! And my bicycle wheel spinning on the pavement! And daffodils and thousands of tulips (tulip festival takes place in May).

This morning was a perfect winter morning. You wouldn't have known it was nearly April. It was -12 and icy and brightly sunny. C. and Amanda and I braved the ice and ran up to the lake. C. was a trouper. He's doing so well! And then on the way home we dropped off C. and Amanda and I did another loop. All tolled: 1.75 hours. Not bad. And it's early, so I don't have to begin preparing the Easter dinner for C. and I until 4:30.

I'm just making a glazed ham, scalloped potatoes, cauliflower, and a spinach salad with balsamic vinaigrette. For dessert fresh fruit and cream. Very simple. I keep things simple.

We won't tell anyone that it's because I'm not much of a cook. :)

I've realised that in fact I am a lazy person. Last night I held a baby for the first time in a long while. Friends of M. who have a little baby always come to M's getherings. It's kind of cool as I have seen this baby now four times, over the course of 5 months. Every time I see it it is fatter and longer. It's interesting to watch. But I held the little guy last night and man was I amazed by how heavy he was. He wanted to stand on my lap and use me like a jolly jumper. So I held him by the chest and let him bounce up and down. He was really quite cute.

I must admit though - cute as babies are - I kind of wonder if it is a good thing that I have decided to adopt an older child in several years. The idea of changing diapers five times a day and brushing little teeth as they come in and sometimes getting up every three hours to nurse...well I must confess that it is beyond me! I don't know how people do it! I mean, I know how - they want to. But how do they, you know, work and stuff? This woman is staying home but the husband is getting up with the baby in the middle of the night, too. He then works all day. I have no idea how one would cope with that. I would not be able to work well under those constraints.

You see, I'm a lazy lady of leisure! Plus, it seems to me that I would be so much more excited to have a kid once it had things to say for itself, and could walk around and do stuff with me. Hmmm...


:)

Anyhow. Whilst I am single and childless - which is possibly forever - I should enjoy the indulgences, I suppose. :)

I think that that's all of my nonsensical rambling for today. I should, finally, go to the mall to buy some non-sausage jeans that I can fit into. Incidentally, I am eating bread pudding left over from last night, with whipped cream. How's THAT for a lunch?!?!?!? Funnily enough, some woman at the party last night called me a stick woman, which I thought was rather rude! I didn't mention the sausage jeans to her - I think she would have flipped out. I don't like being thought of as a stick though. That's not nice.

|

1:27 p.m. - 2008-03-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08