Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Since the only choices on tv tonight are Mme. Doubtfire and Monst3r-in-law, I think I'm going out to the video store...

OMG I just ate the most delicious bowl of pasta, smothered in fresh garlic, handfuls of basil, good olive oil, and coarsely grated parm reg. MMMMMMMMM...

I just realized that I need to get a dog. I'm starting to treat my plants like my babies. Sad. :)

The moon is full out my skylight. Hmmm...

The evening of my decadence. I've realized that I love beautiful things. I have a new pact in life: to only buy beautiful things. The trick is that I will need to save up and only buy two or three beautiful things per year. I will not buy just stuff. So along this vein, have I ever mentioned my favourite shoe? I'm in love with ballerines. Sure I have many, many pairs of heels. But what I really love is ballerines. They make me feel like a girl. I have shiny red patent ones that make me skip along. My favourite ones, however, are these:

in blue

Buying them in midnight blue was my only concession to practicality, as these are the most dumb-ass shoes that an urban Canadian living in the big O could ever buy. They have thin soles. They inevitably scuff. The ground here is always covered with snow, mud, ice, rain, or sludge. Oh yeah, and dust when we're really lucky. So all I really do is wear these around my apartment feeling like a princess. I always wanted to be a ballerina. I wish I'd had the chance to study dance as a child. I think I would have been good at it, even though I was uncoordinated when small. Oddly, I have the perfect build for a ballerina. Hmm. Oh well! :)

So I want to buy another pair for this summer. I'm thinking lilac or tumbled lilac. I've had silver shoes twice in my life and both times all of the silver scuffed off them so quickly and they became unwearable, so silver or other metallics are definitely out. Silver is tough to maintain. And I have gold wedge shoes with little bows, anyhow. :)

Can you believe it?

I'm such a sparkly daffodil. But, I swear, tasteful gold wedges go with EVERYTHING. Seriously. ;)

So I think I will buy a pair of hopelessly impractical lilac ballerines for the summer, as my purchase of the next couple of months. I've been so good for the last several months - only the ebay vintage dvf Justin dress for work (cheap), the daffodil cardigan (inexpensive), and the black silk dress for the ball and for summer (very reasonable and practial)!

I know, that list does not really suggest "good." I've still bought stuff. But at least I'm being conscious about it. :)

I think I'll buy the ballerines for my birthday, which is coming up MUCH sooner than I would like it to. (Thirty-eight, you know.) Oh! And I have some cotton yarn in indigo purple that I found in my bags in my bedroom so I am going to make a little lacy cardigan. I'll be purple and 38. Next I'll buy a cat and the spinsterdom will be complete! :)

OK. Off to the video store. I just ate an entire large ziplock bag full of mixed greens as I wrote that. Can you believe it?

|

8:39 p.m. - 2008-03-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08