Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Six word love poems are dangerous.

I was skating along tonight on the canal and was so lost in continued composition that I didn't notice that I was about to be run over by a zamboni!

Well, really, it was a National C@pital Commission truck outfitted with a giant snow shovel. But still...

You'd think the giant lights looming over the ice would have alerted me to its arrival.

And then C. and I rung in V Day with the special "love" cake that I had bought for him yesterday.

The latest girl to be stringing him along did another push pull thing yesterday and so I bought him the cake to share the love.

And then he didn't show up yesterday.

But he showed up today and we had a nice time. Actually, C. did not have SUCH a nice time as he took a header on the ice.

I was way ahead of him - he's still learning and prefers to do it in his own way - and suddenly I could hear angry yelping.

:)

My friend C., of course. He was down on his back. Good thing he was wearing a soft knapsack and ski pants.

I hauled him up and we returned to my house and...ate chocolate and vanilla sponge cake with raspberry filling, chocolate icing, and red piped icing hearts and a silver ball on top.

I let C. have the silver ball, which I think was very nice of me given that I was threatening last night to eat the cake myself, after waiting for two hours for him to show. :)

That's it. I should sleep. I avoided the zamboni. This time.

Next time I'll bring a camera.

Incidentally, that six word poetry thing was very good for me. It forced me to confront the degree to which I need to work on my writing. There's nothing more difficult than writing concisely. I remember how frustrated I was when I was first required to write short Ec0nomics pieces. There's little that's more satisfying though than a tight piece of writing.

Love cake soothes lonely hearts tonight.

Who am I kidding? I don't have a lonely heart. I've never been happier. Truly. I had a thought tonight, however: It's a good thing I'm not a parent, as as I was weaving in full arcs from side to side as I moved along the canal, with my arms stretched out practically straining to shout with enjoyment, I was thinking that I'm exactly the kind of woman whose kids would be thinking, "OH GOD I think that that's my mother over there doing the pirouette! I want to die from embarrassment!"

Bonsoir!

|

12:25 a.m. - 2008-02-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08