Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Vintage here I come.

Oh ladies!

I've become an eb@y addict.

My pink dress arrived. It's a mint condition, vintage DVeeF dress. I look so good in her dresses. It fits perfectly. And because it is in a dark raspberry pattern it will be good for winter and for summer - tights in winter, bare legs in summer. See, thinking!

I think I'm going to start buying more vintage again. It's time to have fun with my clothes again.

I used to buy vintage clothes all the time. I mean, I was selective. I don't like to look costumey, not at all.

But how much fun is it to get some crazy piece that stands out?

When I first started working - back at the L'Ambass@de in DC in 1992 - I had a gigantic collection of 1940s suit jackets. I used to pair them with conservative skirts. So funny.

Have I mentioned that the favourite shoes that I own are handmade dancing shoes from Australia that were made in teh 1930s? They even have the lady's name written on the bottom. I love everything about them. And damn they are comfortable. Unfortunately in yellow-cream they are only suitable in summer. I wear them with my white and yellow flowered dress that I bought at Pr3loved in Montreal a few years back and that is made of bedsheets. I'm really not joking. It IS made of bedsheets! Never fear, I do not wear it to work. :)

I only wish I had time to sew and sell dresses out of bedsheets myself. :) I'm down with the whole recycling movement. I once made a suitjacket myself out of damask upholstery fabric. I know I've written that before. It was lovely. And, to be honest, as much as I like my new clothes -i.e. most of my good clothes -I get a secret thrill at clothes with a story behind them. I just know that there was a story behind my yellow shoes! When I first saw them in the window of a vintage store as I was walking from my friends' suburb to the centre of Sydney, I just knew that they were mine, that I would dance out of the store and down the street with them. They were $30 AUD and worth every penny! (Oh please don't tell me that the story is that the old lady died and her kids sent the clothes to consignment... :) I prefer to imagine some great, thwarted story of a dancing career cut short by family duty or something!)

My favourite green dress is not vintage, but it is of a vintage pattern. I just love it. I feel so great in that dress, as I said the other day. People always stop me and comment on it when I wear it to work. The same goes - though not at work - when I wear my red and white summer dress. These are happy clothes. In Canada we wear too many dull clothes. Everyone wears brown, black and grey. When I was at the hairdresser a few weeks ago he went to get my coat and said as he was opening the closet, "Is yours the black, puffy parka?"

And the closet opened and we both laughed as there were ONLY BLACK PUFFY PARKAS in it.

Seriously, every woman in my department comes to the elevator in a black, puffy parka. The only difference is that some have fake fur.

THe only thing that differentiates mine is that I wear a scarf in thick and thin wool that is of varied colours of pink and blue and green and everything else. It is very pretty. My friend who just finished her Ph.D. at Oxford made it for me when she was working on her thesis last year- my goodness can I have some of her productivity, please?-and I like it because it is long and kind of "chic granola." I wrap it three times around it is so big. And it has a fringe. I have a nice knitted cloche hat to go with it that I made in a neutral, and just to be a bit more unconventional I wear mittens in the same colours but striped instead. :)

And now I have a pink dress with which to shake up the Line Dance department. :)

Today I was wearing sombre black. Well, a black skirt with a merino sweater in black with fine white stripes. Black tights. Black boots. I alternate between boots and this pair of black crocodile-looking 80s-style heels. Me love them.

I try to alternate black or grey or brown or other such modest outfits with crazy colourful ones. Yesterday I wore a demure brown skirt with some boring sweater or other. Oh yeah, a black one.

I have the same merino wool fine-gauge, deep v-neck sweater in something like 9, no 10 colours. I rotate them in: black, burgundy, navy, grey, grey with white stripes, raspberry with fine white stripes, brown heather, dark teal, heathered sage green, black with striking purple argyle pattern.

Just writing that list out makes me crack up. How boring can one person be? I pick out said sweaters and skirts at night and lay them out on my chair.

And always I match the deep v-neck (under which I wear a demure camisole), with an equally demure gabardine or other wool, knee-length pencil skirt. Today's had pleating detail on the bottom.

I'm so predictable. And I HATE wearing suit jackets.

It's funny though. People here dress so badly. I actually look very swanky next to most of the others. And I also noticed that I am tall here.

I am not tall at all, but compared to the women AND THE MEN in Ottawa, I think I'm fairly tall. With heels I guess I am about 5'9". I seem to tower over people at the breakfast counter when I go to get my giant Western egg sandwich on toasted everything bagel.

I'm really so predictable!

Funny how these things go. I have no idea why I just wrote all of that.

Just musing.

BUt oh! Oh! I'm now so addicted to stalking interesting things on ebay. I've spent my budget for clothing for the month though so that is it. Can you believe that I gave myself a limit of $30 per month for clothing? :) I added together January and February for the dress.

I'm becoming so cheap.

Of course, I will break my own written law. But I feel that it is good to have a preset limit to *constrain* purchases. Otherwise, I would just never think about it.

OK. This really was a nonsensical entry. I'm having some stomach problems tonight and haven't eaten as a result. I'm going to force myself to make and consume some dinner.

Have a lovely evening!

PS Fifi: I didn't really think that Ned was drinking for breakfast! :)

|

9:09 p.m. - 2008-02-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08