Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

shorty pants

You know, I have hardly anything to say this evening. You're lucky! :)

Today was another crap day on the job. My boss was distracted and didn't have time to meet on a project important to me, but then he did spontaneously look at it and because he sprung it on me I didn't respond effectively to his questions. It made it look as though I hadn't reasoned through the problem correctly, even though I had reasoned through it exactly as he had - only last week.

Doh! I have the memory of a middle-aged person.

No, no. The problem is anxiety. I get anxious around my boss. And then my mind goes blank.

Anyhow. Nevermind. I told C. last night that from now on I am going to have to provide myself with my own validation.

Duh!

This afternoon I got a surprise email from a guy over at my former job. This guy never bothered to talk to me when I was there, but my final paper over there was finally published and he had read it and wanted to tell me that he had liked it. Anyhow!

That made me feel a little bit sad as when I looked at the abstract to the paper attached to the message I realized how good the fit was between my skills and the work that I was doing there. It was using the whole range of my best skills. It's so sad that I left. It's so sad that there were so many crappy things about the management in that workplace. I have a feeling that I will return to that department in the next couple of years though. I look forward to it.

I'm so sad where I am.

But I'm not going to talk about it anymore.

So you'll be happy for me in that I arranged a run with a girl whom I met at the birthday party a couple of weeks ago. We're going to run tomorrow night and do long runs with each other sometimes. I think it's good for me to break old habits and join up with someone new.

Now I have to decide on whether I will go on the cycling trip from Ottawa to Kennebunctport at the end of May. It turns out that C. will likely get an extension on his thesis (at least in a technical sense, though he is still submitting next week, see below), so his convocation will not likely be on that weekend. The total trip is $763. This included bed and breakfasts and cartage of your gear along the way. I think it includes daily food and snacks, too.

It seems like quite a bit of money for a self-propelled trip over five days or something (and thinking about it I suspect we have to ride back, too :))on which I am likely to get sores on my butt and possibly even road rash (not to mention black fly bites) :), but the cyclist girl who invited me along assures me that the services provided make the price reasonable. She's noted that it's particularly nice not to have to carry one's own gear.

So I think I might go! How fun is that!

Particularly since I'll probably race the week before, though if I'm smart I WON'T race the marathon.

I won't be ready, anyhow.

Ah sigh. I'm rambling stupidly.

I did something else very stupid. I bought a second-hand pair of jeans in a style and in teh size that I know will fit but DOH! I looked at them today only to find that someone shorter had already hemmed them and cut them off strangely before hemming them and so they are too short for me. I opened up the cuffs and took them to a tailor (I do not have a sewing machine right now), and I'm hoping that she can somehow reattach the cuffs and extended fabric to the cut line on the leg in a way that makes them look more like extended cuffs than like stupid cut jeans fabric sewn back together. :) Well, that serves me right for being hasty and cheap.

UGH.

Stupid me. :)

I think that's it. C. is coming over with a pizza to watch our stupid favourite show, or our favourite stupid show - take your pick.

When we were in Montreal together we had a tv but no cable and so only received one fuzzy channel. Late at night we'd emerge from our respective study lairs to watch the only show that we could actually get in and agree upon: CS!.

So tonight it's grad school pizza night and "Who Are You?" The Who Are You? ritual involves singing along to the title track as well as dancing whilst seated (i.e. lifting up legs and shaking both legs and arms) to the sleazy music that plays as the various lab people perform tests on sem2n-stained sheets and toenail clippings and such.

And of course we make Gr!ssom facial expressions.

I can't quite believe that I'm admitting these things on the Internet, but it's one of those rituals of university with C. that will never die. Lately we haven't seen each other much as he's been holed up at home trying to finish his thesis that is due to be submitted in four days.

My friend C.: The only guy who is such a champion procrastinator that after 8 years he has left the writing of the final chapter of his thesis to three days before submission.

At least he's submitting! I'm so excited!

That's it for me. I'm going to get on the bike and spin a bit in the hour before the fun begins. :) I've been quite lazy this week and I DEFINITELY need the stress release.

Cheerio!

|

7:20 p.m. - 2008-01-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08