Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Anne Fr@nk

From the diary of Anne Fr@nk:

�I haven�t written for a few days because I wanted, first of all, to think about my diary. It�s an odd idea for someone like me to keep a diary; not only because I have never done so before, but because it seems to me that neither I�nor for that matter anyone else�will be interested in the unbosomings of a thirteen-year-old schoolgirl. Still, what does that matter? I want to write but, more than that, I want to bring out all kinds of things that lie buried deep in my heart.

There is a saying that �paper is more patient than man�; it came back to me on one of my slightly melancholy days, while I sat chin in hand, feeling too bored and limp even to make up my mind whether to go out or stay at home. Yes, there is no doubt that paper is patient and, as I don�t intend to show this carboard-covered notebook bearing the proud name of �diary� to anyone, unless I find a real friend, boy or girl, probably nobody cares. And now I come to the root of the matter, the reason for my starting a diary: it is that I have no such real friend.

Let me put it more clearly, since no one will believe that a girl of thirteen feels herself quite alone in the world, nor is it so. I have darling parents and a sister of sixteen. I know about thirty people whom one might call friends. I have strings of boy friends, anxious to catch a glimpse of me and who, failing that, peep at me through mirrors in class. I have relationships, aunts and uncles, who are darlings too. A good home. No�I don�t seem to lack anything. But it�s the same with all my friends, just fun and joking, nothing more. We don�t seem to be able to get any closer, that is the root of the trouble.

Hence, this diary. In order to enhance in my mind�s eye the picture of the friend for whom I have waited so long, I don�t want to set down a series of bald facts in a diary like most people do, but I want this diary itself to be my friend��


|

1:14 a.m. - 2008-01-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08