Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The insanity, part II: My business prospects ain't grand. But they do involve sequined headbands.

ACK! Before I forget, I need to write something down.

Last night, when I was spinning on my bicycle in my living room, I had some interesting thoughts. (Seriously, it's starting to feel cool. It's like I'm the R!chard S!mmons of my neighbourhood, or at least imagine it to be so. Of course I've never been overweight and I'm not gay. And I'm not likely to wear a sequined tank top any time soon. But anyhow...)And, by the way, if you've never seen this video...I recommend it as one of the funniest things I have EVER seen. I like Richard.

I was thinking about how much I LOATHE exercise infomercials, gym obsession, diet obsession, obsession with having the perfect abs, etc...

So I've decided that I should eventually start a fitness company (although "company" for me likely means "free club") and call it SANE FITNESS. Fitness is very important, don't get me wrong. But it has to be *normal* fitness.

You know, the kind of fitness that involves ACTUAL heart fitness, i.e. intensity when it counts, but that involves enjoying the rest of your life, your family, a normal diet, drinks if that is your preference, etc.

There is pretty much nothing on earth that irks me more than dieting. (And I'm not blaming the individuals who do it. I'm blaming the culture.) It's just stupid and annoying. There is so much good, healthy food to be had out there, and eating with balance, accepting your body's healthy set point weight, and exercising not just to look good but to have a strong heart, joint mobility a high energy level...WITH your friends and family, to have fun, to play...is so forgotten in all of this.

You do not need a six pack to be healthy and fit! You really don't!

Nor do you need portruding triceps.

I think my company is going to involve a hard workout followed by a banana split. Or maybe workouts that involve running through strawberry fields, and then sitting down to pick strawberries, with this followed up by a brunch of buckwheat pancakes with strawberries and whipped cream. That sounds like me, doesn't it? Hmm...Maybe we could do weight work with rounds of parmesan? ;)

You know, I'm wanting a revolution here.

A revolution of mothers, dads, children, chasing after a cheese round rolling down a hill, and then enjoying a good meal in the open country. (They do that in England, you know - the cheese round thing. There's a race. It's almost enough to make me want to move to England. :))

And of course we'd definitely wear sequined headbands. Or maybe something classy, if I can commission culotte to make something cashmere or feathered for us. Do you think that that cycling dude would ask me out if I turned up to spinning on Saturday in a boa?

If I learned anything from running marathons with the desire to win them, it's that that's a stupid thing to do. Yes, there is such a thing as too much exercise. Too much exercise, she found me. :)

|

8:38 p.m. - 2008-01-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08