Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's all about the loveseat love

OK. I've figured out what my resistence to sofa buying is all about.

Surprisingly, it is not about the money.

It's about an attachment to the armchair that sits in place of a loveseat at the moment.

It's a massive, ugly armchair. I have it covered with a quilt that I picked up for $10 at a garage sale in Montreal.

Now I must note in advance that I NEVER go to garage sales. This is because my mother and my step-father LOVE garage sales. They completely turned me off of the things. Whilst I absolutely agree that it makes sense to recycle things, for some people garage sales go too far - it's an endless cycle of buying and selling useless junk that no one actually even needs.

And none of these exchanges are taxed. ARGH! ;-)

I really hope that you noticed the wink in the last statement.

The armchair was given to me by my library school buddy Meg, a 50-something, underarm hair braiding teacher who lives in a log cabin on the prairies with her artist husband. A fantastic woman. When she moved back to Saskatchewan she asked me if I wanted the chair.

It's pretty much the most comfortable armchair I have ever owned. It nestles me perfectly. I fall asleep in it at night sometimes on weekends, with my head on the flat and gently-sloping left arm of the chair. People always go straight to that chair when I invite them in - Ava spent the evening in it yesterday.

It sits in the stead of a loveseat, as I mentioned. Whilst one could fit two people in it, it would be a very uncomfortable sardining exercise, and though romantic for about a minute or two, the deprivation of one of one's circulation would rapidly chill a twosome's positive response to it.

I measured the chair just now, whilst moving my computer further into the corner (with a smaller monitor this works).

And the chair is too big to move into the place of the other armchair in the room!

OH NO!

If I get the sofa the giant armchair needs to go. It will have to be moved into my bedroom, in which I never sit.

This is a remarkably sad realization, and there is no way around it. If I move it to the side of the sofa there will be no movement to be had/taken AROUND the entertainment seating division. If I move it over to the alcove with my dining room table...no mobility to the window will be possible.

Sniff.

It's a decision between sharing my seating or keeping the monster armchair in public.

I have such interesting problems. ;)

Incidentally, when I mentioned that the poet scientist's girlfriend was skipping her cycling classes I wasn't criticizing her. In fact, I was thinking about it as she caught me off guard by telling me in a way that suggested that she expected my agreement. She looked surprised when initially I didn't react. It honestly never occurs to me to skip training. Just a habit, I guess. Or an enslavement. :)

|

4:41 p.m. - 2008-01-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08