Photobucket

enfinblue's Bluey (credit to Fifi for the nickname!) Diaryland Diary

"I am seeking, I am striving, I am in it with all my heart." -Vinc3nt V@n Gogh

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

half an entry

Ah, much better.

I am a woman of the night. I know it, you know it, we all know it, my parents certainly knew it. (My mother would constantly yell at me when she discovered on trips to the bathroom that my light was still on. :))

Me loves the night.

And as teranika kindly put it, I certainly cannot switch my body over rapidly after having spent the holiday being up all night, every night.

Today was a relatively good day. Work was boring and fatiguing, of course.

I knew that work would be a drain as there wasn't much to do but read model-related stuff and try to not focus on the fact that I feel crummy because I slept inadequately.

I got 6.5 hours. That's not great. It's not terrible, and actually I was perfectly functional and intelligent today. I just felt turned inside out.

In truth, I'm feeling downright crappy from a physical point of view today. It's the horrible monthly cycle thing, in part. I'm feeling bloated and achey. I'm probably fighting a bug.

My appetite is not good, I'm feeling strain in my face, my complexion is pale and my skin looks dull and...old.

Not good.

But tomorrow morning is spinning so I'll clean out the system.

All of this mechanical, body stuff is not, however, what I came here to write about.

I was thinking today that now that I have the lovely ability to both photograph things that interest me and to post said photographs, I should show you the pictures of St. Anne de la Perade.

I probably wrote about this when I returned from my trip to Quebec City on the last weekend of January of last year, but I'm going to replay it.

On our way back from Quebec City I suggested a detour. We drove away from the highway and to a little village on a little tributary of the St. Lawrence River after night had fallen. A friend in Ottawa who grew up in the QUebec City area had advised this.

The friend had told me that this little village is a place to which people flock to go ice fishing in winter, but we had certainly not expected what we saw. As I mentioned, night had already fallen when we arrived.

We drove into the village. We drove to what we thought was the water. I was in the back seat. The Italian visitor who was driving drove onto a road flanked by little cabins lit up with blazing lights.

Suddenly I shrieked, "We're on the river! We're on the river!"

They disagreed with me. But I was certain. And OK, I don't really shriek much so I'll rephrase and say that I cried or expressed delightedly my realization.

You see, I don't think Italians expect people to drive on rivers.

But I know this place and the people just enough that I had a strong suspicion that that was how they had it set up. And this is how it was.

The photos come next. Imagine our arrival. It was like magic. There are few things that I like more than settings just as they are. You'll understand what I mean if you've ever seen Schultz3 G3ts the Blu3s.

Photo problem. I'll be back. I'm back. The first photos are of the actual St. Lawrence, as sun was setting. And then we approach Ste. Anne de la Perade, now driving on the river. We get out of the car (still on the river :)), we visit an ice fishing hut rental office, we visit one of the cabins in which people apparently ice fish through the night, and then we partake of a dinner at an...atmospheric local restaurant at which the fish caught are cooked...There is (perhaps!) extra poignancy to the fact that my crap-o-riffic relationship with Larry was ending at that time. Note the "happy valentines" decor. Sigh. :) I might just finish up the images with some daytime images of the carnival in Quebec. So, so beautiful. Icy, but beautiful. And the sliding sooooooo much fun!!! (For Hello Kitty! girls! :)) (OH HOW I WISH I had taken a photo of the lumberjack/French Canadian courieur du bois man at the top of the slide who grabbed me and danced me around the platform at the top before trundling me onto the sled - priceless. A veritable waltz in the frozen air. :)

I have a number of things to write about the day today as well as the art gallery opening (very enjoyable), but those will wait until tomorrow. :)

>

|

10:39 p.m. - 2008-01-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

other diaries:

stepfordtart
ohell
awittykitty
annanotbob
manfromvenus
smartypants
fifidellabon
hungryghost
hissandtell

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

Come al solito - 2011-04-16
unfettered spending - 2011-04-15
How does it go? - 2011-04-14
Whirlwind. - 2011-04-13
bleak that flips over to daffodil - 2011-04-08